Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases

Sources: Jackie McClaskey, 785-532-5736,;
and Emily Lehning, 785-532-6237,
Web site:

Wednesday, May 13, 2009


MANHATTAN -- A senior leadership honor society at Kansas State University has selected members for the 2009-2010 school year.

Blue Key Honor Society recognizes college students at senior institutions of higher education for balanced and all-around excellence in scholarship, leadership and service.

Membership selection is based on all-around leadership in student life, high scholastic achievement, service to others and citizenship. Selection criteria also includes having at least a 3.0 grade point average and having significant leadership experience in at least two student or community organizations.

At K-State, Blue Key members provide Peer Leadership Consulting, which is cost-free training for K-State students, clubs and organizations for developing leadership and team skills through interactive presentations. Blue Key also annually awards thousands of dollars in scholarships to K-State undergraduates each year. The awards include $500 Leadership and Service scholarships.

Other Blue Key activities include supervising Quest, K-State's freshman leadership honorary; putting on the annual U-Speak Conference for high school students interested in speaking out on today's issues; hosting the Leadership Appreciation Reception to recognize students across campus for their leadership; and organizing IGNITE, an annual high school leadership conference.

K-State students selected as Blue Key members for the 2009-2010 school year include:

Lacey Altwegg, agricultural communications and journalism, Chapman; Torie Reilly, agriculture education, Cherryvale; Tim Hadechek, political science, Cuba; Katie Niederee, life sciences, Great Bend; Kelsey Moran, political science, Hays; Wayne Stoskopf, speech and agribusiness, Hoisington; Lindsay Graber, agricultural communications and journalism and animal sciences and industry, Hutchinson; Donnie Hampton, management, Leavenworth; Robert Tibbetts, hotel and restaurant management and horticulture, Liberal; Dani Devlin, accounting, Manhattan; Ashley Guenther, agricultural communications and journalism and agricultural economics, Ottawa; Adam Tank, microbiology, Overland Park; Tana Smith, anthropology and history, Paola; Dalton Henry, agricultural economics and agricultural communications and journalism, Randolph; Phillip Harner, industrial engineering, St. George; and Andrew Maness, mathematics, Wichita.

From out of state: Paul Mintner, political science, Higginsville, Mo.