Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. December news releases
Print This Article  

Sources: Gary Coates, 785-532-5953,;
and Diane Potts, 785-532-1090,
News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-6415,

Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Five Kansas State University architecture students took honors for their design work at the recent 11th annual Bowman Design Forum at K-State.

The forum, coordinated by K-State's College of Architecture, Planning and Design, brings internationally acclaimed architects to campus to work with third-year architecture students.

One student from each of the college's third-year studios was selected to present their design for an 8,500-square-foot visitors center and administrative facility for the Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve in Chase County, Kansas. The design had to reflect the ecological, cultural and historic resources available at the preserve and in Kansas' Flint Hills, as well as be sustainable.

Each proposal included a lobby and information desk, exhibit space, a gift and bookstore, and additional administrative space. Students had to prepare a model, drawings and a PowerPoint presentation.

The forum's invited jurors were Dennis Cusack, managing principal at the West Coast firm of SRG Partnership Inc., and Greg Papay, managing partner for Lake-Flato Architects, San Antonio, Texas. Other jurors included Brent Bowman and Patrick Schaub, principals at Bowman Bowman Novick, the event sponsor. The firm has offices in Manhattan and in Kansas City, Mo.

Two students earned $750 in prize money for their work, while three other students earned $400 for their projects.

Students and their cash prizes include:

Jacob Campbell, Derby, $750; and Adam Reilly, Topeka, $400.

From out of state: Scott Gibson, Englewood, Colo., $400; Nick Young, Belton, Mo., $400; and Kevin Stiegler, Kansas City, Mo., $750.



  • Updated: 8/23/16