The Roar

C

KSU Classified Senate Employee Newsletter

May 2005

President's Column

KUDOS TO KSU CLASSIFIED SENATE MEMBERS

The 2004-2005 KSU Classified Senate year is on the downhill side. I want to take a moment to publicly express a HUGE THANK YOU to each of the senators that have served this year. Early in the year senators realized that to be effective Classified Senate had to be visible. Our strategy to accomplish this was to improve communication with KSU classified employees. Because of their commitment to Classified Senate and their willingness to put forth extra energy, each senator has established some sort of communication mechanism for getting information to their constituents.

As we have gone through the year---co-hosting two Legislative Forums on short notice, establishing a K-State Savers program and, of course, coordinating the Classified Employee Recognition Ceremony---senators have stepped up, without complaint, to get the job done. During those "any discussion" moments at Senate meetings, when a variety of opinions have been shared, each senator has demonstrated professionalism and respect for each other.

I feel so honored---and so grateful---for the privilege of working with each one of you. Thank you.

Loleta Sump

Faculty/Staff Parking Applications:

The 2005-2006 parking permit applications are being sent via e-mail. If you do not receive an e-mail, please look at the website: <u>http://www.ksu.edu/parking</u>, and under "Forms", fill out the 2005-2006 Faculty/Staff Parking Permit application. Sign the form and return via campus mail to Parking services. You may use your new permit as soon as you receive it. Permits will be mailed to your campus address after July 1, 2005. If you have questions, call Parking Services at 532-7275.

CLASSIFIED EMPLOYEE RECOGNITION CEREMONY

KSU Classified Senate cordially invites all K-State classified employees to attend the 28th Annual Employee Recognition Ceremony on Wednesday, May 18, 2005, at 2:00 p.m. in the K-State Student Union Ballroom.

This ceremony honors 2004 retirees and those employees with 5, 15, 25, 35 and 45 years of service. Additionally, this year's recipient of the Presidential Scholar Award will be named. Recognition will also be given to a classified employee for a valuable suggestion submitted to the Kansas State University Employee Suggestion Award Program.

Once again this year there will be door prizes and a reception following the ceremony.

Please join us in congratulating your fellow employees on their years of service. They are as follows:

Five Years: Kenneth D. Abernathy, Joseph P. Agnew, Denise Appel, Veronica L. Benjamin, Shelly W. Bernardi, Jason R. Blackburn, Matthew W. Blair, Patrick F. Boss, Melanie A. Brant, Tami L. Breymeyer, Michael C. Brown, Vanetta L. Brumbaugh, Fred A. Carlson, Nancy Carr, Shelly Charles, Shelley A. Coffman, Judy Daniels, Charlene M. Davis, Becky Edwards, Mary L. Embree, Raymond C. Fahrny, Christopher J. Falley, Elaine L. Flemming, Charlene Flyer, Rebecca J. Frakes. Kyong C. Friedmann, Kris E. Fulkerson, Doris R. M. Galvan, Jeanne Gerhard, Melissa Carol Goble, Marion G. Grob, Christine E. Hackworth, Kim Harrington, Mary Kay Henry, Carol L. Hewitt, Diana L. Hollingshead, Travis D. Homeier, Belinda J. Hunter, Sara M. Juenemann, Kenneth L. Kary, Bob C. Kim, Wayne L. Koetkemeyer, Bill Latimer, Regina Lix, Sandra K. Lumb, Ronald A. Lundberg, George T. Lyles, Jr., Kenneth W. Marinhagen, Patricia L. McCaffrey, Theresa M. McCarthy, Shane L. McCune, Marian L. Moore, William J. Neilson, Christopher M. O'Shea, Sunny Patch, Kevin E. Pfizenmaier, Sara L. Porey, Michael W.

Price, Sarah J. Price, Virginia K. Ratliff, Toni Reeves, Jay B. Reynard, Ellen J. Reynolds, Barbara Rickstrew, Pamela R. Ridder, Daniel W. Ridley, Dale A. Rivett, Cindy D. Ruiz, Rebecca R. Ryan, Terri K. Savage, Kathy L. Schaefer, Connie Schlegel, Charlotte J. Self, Emily E. Shirley, Patricia Simpson, Nicole Sloan, Rony L. Smith, Nichole L. Stoddard, Mindy Strick, Jacqueline M. Stubbings, Martin N. Swift, Sharon S. Tally, Darla S. Thomas, Elsa Del Pilar Toburen, Jacqueline L. Tweed, Judith A. Ward, Dee Ann Wilkison, Delores M. Winfough, Alisha M. Winter, Angela C. Wiseley, Shelley Wishon, Teresa M. Zerbe

Fifteen Years: Anna Mae Anderson, Mary E. Bailey, Elizabeth Bantz, Patricia E. Bidwell, Evelvn Bolte, Bernard P. Brehmer, Franklyn D. Bryan, Janice Buchman, Lori E. Buss, Fred W. Caldwell, James A. Chacon, Cindy Chard Bergstrom, J. Wayne Countryman, Marc C. Cusimano, Diana K. Dible, Benjamin Dickinson, Susan L. Farrington, Sherry Foister, LaDona Fredrichs, Phillip W. Gerdes, William C. Girard, Augstine Gonzales, Jackie L. Harmon, Tammie S. Hartwick, Pamela S. Hedman, Rvan L. Holle, Therese J. Howe, Robert E. Learned III, Dawn R. McCune Wall, Bonnie R. McMillan, Daniel R. Meek, Marguerite Moore, Alice A. Niedfeldt, Regina L. Nixon, Ruby Peter, Judy A. Pinnick, Terence W. Pittman. Cheryl A. Reves, Donald L. Roach, Cherry A. Rosenberry, Susan A. Schanks, Lois G. Schreiner, Clayton W. Seaman, Marla D. Sexton, Karen S. Shaw, Larry R. Shubert, Judy K. Smith, Sharon R. Smith, Debra K. Snyder, Valerie R. Stillwell, Telva M. Swenson, Anna E. Taylor, Nancy L. Thompson, Gloria J. Valdez, Cynthia A. Von Elling, Wendy D. Wann, Cindy Welch, Denise L. Worth, Evelyn West, Scott L. West, Marvin E. Whetstone, Brenda M. Wieneck, Sally A. Williams, John R. Wolf

Twenty-Five Years: Teresa A. Baughman, Francine K. Bostick, Theresa M. Breymeyer, Joyce Hoerman Brite, Jack E. Carlson, Brenda N. Clark, Douglas D. Coleman II, Bonnie Cravens, Dana Custer, Barbara Elliott, Janet K. Finney, Connie S. Geiger, Pamela A. Gudjohnsen, William Earl Harris, Gina M. Jackson, Blaine P. Johnson, Janie L. Kidd, Ann R. Kosch, Renee Leask, Kristi J. Lehmkuhl, Barbara J. Leonard, Susan K. Mitchell, Anayansi M. Morel, Marilyn L. Noyes, James K. Olson, Diana D. Pavlisko, Debra J. Pickett, Robert J. Resser, Larry L. Robertson, Jess A. Starkey, Connie M. Walter, Joseph M. Warren, Christine C. Wenger, Ralph E. Wolf, Sang Y. Yi

<u>Thirty-Five Years:</u> Lorene E. Dahm, Patricia L. Dean, John V. Frese, Roberta L. Huddleston, John E. Kent, Bertha J. Lovelle, Karen K. McInteer, Linda L. Morse, Sharon K. Remmert, Eddie Russell, Pamela J. Say, Beverly A. Tolbert, Jacqueline D. Tolbert, Richard A. Williams

<u>Retirees:</u> Fred D. Bammes, Carolyn Bracken, Larry D. Brammer, DeAnn Bratton, Lois A. Brunmeier, Marcella Budden, Charles, E. Carlson, Richard L. Colson, James E. Fleming, Robert D. Geering, Edward J. Gereau, Donna Hartner, Phillip E. Hedrick, Sharon Heideman, Harlin G. Henton, M. Elaine Hitsman, Janet R. Howland, Marylin D. Land, Evelyn A. Larson, Thomas M. McClelland, Kathleen K. McCullough, Jean J. Miller, Helen M. Ott, David R. Remmert, Donald. L. Rippe, Loleita Johnson Roberts, Shirley Sue Roscovius, Sigrun E. Rush, John C. Sailor, Wilma J. Shuman, Betty J. Siebold, Karen R. Spaeth, Gail Vacca, Angela K. Vanderbilt, James E. Williamson, E. Ruth Yowell, Rosalyn A. Zillmann

K-STATE SAVERS CONTINUES

A small, but committed, group of classified employees continue to meet each Tuesday, 12:10 – 12:50 p.m. and 7:10 – 7:50 p.m. in the K-State Student Union to discuss a variety of topics regarding money. The group will meet until the end of the spring semester. Plans at this time are to begin a new group during the Fall 2005 semester. Please visit the K-State Savers website for details:

http://www.ksu.edu/class-senate/k-state_saves.html

Senate Meetings

All Classified Senate meetings are open to classified employees. You are encouraged and welcome to attend any or all of our meetings. Senate meetings begin at 12:45 p.m. Below are the dates and locations.

June 1, 2005 July 6, 2005 August 3, 2005

KSSU Room 213 KSSU Room 213 KSSU Room 213