



KSU Classified Senate Employee Newsletter

April 2002

President's Column

Dear Classified Employees:

As a classified employee you may not realize that you are performing one of the most important job duties at Kansas State University. Beyond the written job descriptions, many classified employees experience positive interaction with students working on campus. Some staff become mentors, and long time friends with the students.

It was recently brought to my attention by the Office of Student Life, that while students are employed on campus in the many departments, the staff is often aware of the challenges students face. It is because of the knowledge of the staff to recognize the needs of students, that many students receive support in both good times and in times of need.

However, when the assistance goes beyond the ability and knowledge of staff, together with the Office of Student Life, students can receive the services they require.

Thank you to the classified staff for continuing to provide leadership and support to the students.

Sincerely,

Ann Marie Treinen



2002 Classified Employee Recognition Ceremony

The 25th Annual Classified Employees Recognition Ceremony will be hosted by the KSU Classified Senate on Wednesday, May 22, 2002, at 2 pm, in the K-State Student Union Ballroom. The program includes: guest speaker Deb Patterson, Head Coach for KSU Woman's Basketball; recognition of KSU employees who have reached the milestone of 5, 15, 25, 35, and 45 years of service; and the retirees for the year 2001. Also, the President's Scholarship will be awarded, and the employees of the year chosen by individual colleges, departments, administrative units and local agencies for outstanding job performance will be announced. The employees listed below will be recognized for their years of service.

5 Years of Service Awards: Sandra K. Adams, Emanuel A. Arnold, Stephen J. Barth, Pamela A. Bernardo, Melvin, T. Bidwell, Leroy C. Bowker, Ruth A. Bundy, Lorene C. Carlson, Paula Chapman, Sonya J. Conrad, Donna R. Davis, Dona L. Deam, Vicky L. Dean, Kevin L. Dettmer, Michael T. Dirckx, Mary A. Dixon, Kevin L. Duerksen, Son Ok Edwards, Barbara A. Gardenhire, Colleen J. Hackenberg, Reggie D. Hasenbank, Martha J. Havenstein, Pam Heikes, Annette L. Hernandez, Wendy Honas, Darlene Jones, Anita K. Kesler, James Kimball, Charles P. LaGabed, Troy Lane, Donald E Lighty, Christopher S. Loehr, Debra M. Lundgren, Donnis Maughlin, Nicole L. Marple, Pamela J. Martinez, Doris L. Mittan, Doris E. Park, Edison M. Park, Ivy R. Perez, Walter C. Powers Jr., Martha M. Powers, Rhona L. Romick, Oscar C. Ruiz, Linda Salava, Carolyn Schwab, Joyce L. Siegrist, Anne M. Springer, Ronda Tatman, Verna Turnquist, Frances L. Waugh, Sara M. Wege, Anthony G. Whetstone, Edwina Whitmer, Dee Winter, Joyce A. Woodward.

15 Years of Service Awards: Frances D. Ahlvers, Margaret N. Beeson, Frank E. Berg, Rebecca L. Bohnenblust, Donna K. Brown, Vicki Lynn Brown, Gerald L. Buchman, Keith L. Carlson, Shelly J. Christenson, Jane M. Cox, Kimberly A. Coy, Wanda C. Crow, James R. Davis, Peggy DeForeest, Alma M. Deutsch, Mary A. Evans, Sherry R. Figge, Janet L. Flanary, Cindy L. Friedrich, Kristi K. Fronce, Constance M. Hamilton, Kimberly A. Heck, Dale M. Heideman, Jean Huntley, Dennis A. Jones, Beverly J. Joyce, Laurel L. Kifer, Larry L. Klocke, Michael R. Larson, Judy E. Livingston, Theresa M. Mangiaracino, Carolyn K. McClaskey, Roger D. McCormick, Larry McCoy, Janice F. Michaelis, Pamela K. Norstrom, William R. Nowland, Laura L. Oesterhaus, Sylvia J. Osborn, Carmel C. Quinn, Bernadette R. Randall, Gary A. Ritter, Patricia A. Lee Salsa, Wayne Schmidtberger, Terry L. Shoe, Cynthia S. Sicard, Barbara Stockard, Robert C. Sutterlin, Patricia A. Swanigan, Sharon K. Tucker, Kevin M. Williams, Becky Wolfe, Lilly D. Wyatt.

25 Years of Service Awards: James T. Benkendorf, Sherry J. Bonawitz, Richard H. Brenner, Barbara J. Day, Larry J. Dible, Terri L. Eddy, Michael L. Feldhausen, Glenn L. Hoover, Gary I. Johnson, Lois J. Kraushaar, Michael J. Marstall, Ralph G. McHugh, Jr., Mary K. Mellgren, David W. Mitchell, Sonja Lee Morgan, Bobby R. Myers, Riley L. Platt, Renee Annette Sawyer, Linda C. Schoen, Judy A. Schurle, Deann K. Selby, Sharon K. Slack, Marsha S. Stagner, Eldon W. Turnbow, Ronald D. Wagner, Donna M. Wright.

35 Years of Service Awards: Frank J. Anneberg, Sharon K. Franks, Karen S. Gaskill, Linda Gibbs, Cheryl C. Klingensmith, Rosemary Reese, Larry R. Zentz.

45 Years of Service Award: Georgia G. Molder

Retirees: Richard L. Allen, Betty Andreasen, Nancy R. Backman, Carol E. Bronaugh, Billy K. Brubaker, Anna M. Bruning, Shirley D. Campbell, Tom L. Cannizzo, Patricia Y Chapman, Richard A. Cummings, Darrel D. Davies, Carol L. Eichman, Stanley E. Fegter, Joseph M. Griffith, Jerry S. Harding, Judy Holub, Harold D. Hood, Jacquelyn Jensen, Ingrid E. Johnson, Ronald E. McNickle, Angela A. Murphy, Sylvia C. Murphy, Robert L. Potter, Dorothy Arlene Sherwood, Sharon K. Sterling, Patricia A. Wells, Janet A. Wenderott, Margreet Williams, James W. Wood, Pyong O. Yi, Mary J. Yonning, Francis David Zidek.

The next edition of **The Roar** will list the Employee of the Year awards, President's Scholarship recipient, as well as the door prize winners. If you have any questions, or corrections regarding the years of service list, please contact Ann Marie Treinen at 532-4346.

Senator Spotlight

Cyreathia (SAM) Reyer has been with K-State for close to 22 years. She began

her employment with the College of Human Ecology and has worked for the Department of Forestry and currently for the Department of Horticulture, Forestry & Recreation Resources. Sam is in her second year as a Classified Senator. Sam and her husband, Gary, have two sons ages 18 and 15 and enjoy supporting them in their activities.

Decisions determine destiny. Frederick Speakman

Upcoming Training and Development Opportunities

April 23 How to Recognize and Prevent Sexual

Harassment

May 9 Basic Telephone Skills
May 16 Basic Supervisory Training
May 6 & 30 New Employee Orientation

May 23 How to Recognize and Prevent Sexual

Harassment

More detailed information regarding training opportunities can be found at the following website:

www.ksu.edu/emplrel/training

CALENDAR OF EVENTS

The following are the dates, times and locations of the future Classified Senate meetings. All meetings are open to classified employees and begin at 12:45 pm.

Wednesday, May 1, 2002 Union Room 213 Wednesday, June 5, 2002 Union Room 209 Wednesday, July 10, 2002 Union Room 213

May 22, 2002

Classified Employee Recognition Ceremony

2001-2002 KSU CLASSIFIED SENATORS

Executive Council

Ann Marie Treinen, President Lori Hutchins, Vice President Charlene Chabries Jackie Yonning, Budget Coordinator vacant, Ex-Officio atreinen@ksu.edu lhutchin@oznet.ksu.edu cchabries@ksu.edu jyonning@ksu.edu

Senators

Sandi Adams sandi@ksu.edu Peggie Armour peggie@ksu.edu J.D. Chrest cdj@ksu.edu Sue Figge suef@ksu.edu Michelle Garner mgarner@oznet.ksu.edu Cheryl Grice cdgrice@ksu.edu Connie Kissee ckissee@ksu.edu Larry McCoy lmccoy@ksu.edu Everett Mead everett@union.ksu.edu Quentin Rawlins quincy@ksu.edu Cyreathia (Sam) Reyer sreyer@oznet.ksu.edu Rhonda Riffel rriffel@sal.ksu.edu Donna Rogers rogersd@vet.ksu.edu Pam Schierer ride@unix.ksu.edu Connie Schmidt rinehart@ksu.edu Sharon Schroll sschroll@oznet.ksu.edu Florence Sperman spermn@cheme.ksu.edu Rodney Stanfield rstanfie@vet.ksu.edu Sherian Staten sjohns@ksu.edu Teresa Zerbe tzerbe@ksu.edu

> This issue of the Roar is brought to you by the Publicity Committee

> > Cyreathia (SAM) Reyer, Chair Michelle Garner