December 12, 2018

To: Colleges/Major Administrative Units, Kansas State University

From: Kelly Ingalsbe and Debra Wilcox, – USS Recognition Ceremony Committee

Re: University Support Staff Employee of the Year Nominations

The 42nd Annual University Support Staff Employee Recognition Ceremony will be held Thursday, April 18, 2019, at 2 P.M. in the K-State Union Ballroom. In preparation of this event, nominations are being sought for "University Support Staff Employee of the Year." This award recognizes university support staff employees who have demonstrated outstanding performance during the 2018 calendar year.

Prior to submitting nominations to University Support Staff Senate, each college and administrative unit should have in place written procedures for the criteria and selection process. Selection committee membership preferably should include a previous year award winner. Please refer to the following website for award guidelines: http://www.k-state.edu/hcs/tools/managers/performance/awards.html. Departments must submit nominations to their respective college deans or major administrative units to their respective vice presidents.

The number of University Support Staff Senators in each college/major administrative unit directly corresponds with the number of University Support Staff Employee of the Year awardees. Listed below is the break down, please remember to submit the nominations through the correct channels.

Colleges include: Agriculture, Research & Extension (4); Architecture, Planning & Design (1); Arts and Science (1); Business Administration (1); Education (1); Engineering (1); Hale Library (1); Human Ecology (1); K-State Salina (1); Veterinary Medicine (2).

Major Administrative Units include: Administration and Finance (4); Office of the President/Office of the Provost (1); Vice President of Student Life & Dean of Students (6); and local agencies (1).

Under this award program, colleges and major administrative units provide a \$300 monetary award (net amount award) to the selected award winner and/or co-recipients. Utilizing department funds or endowment funding, it is understood the departments will be charged a gross amount to include employee deduction, taxes and employer benefits. Payment requests to selected employees are to be submitted to Payroll on a **PER-7** (not Add Pay form). Suggested time frame for payment should be in conjunction with the University Support Staff Awards Recognition Ceremony. College/Major Administrative Unit/Departments may choose to recognize several university support staff employees with monetary awards, but University Support Staff Senate will only recognize those selected as EOY winners by their respective College Selection Committee at the ceremony.

The deadline for College Selection Committees to submit their selection(s) is February 15, 2019. Please use the attached form to submit your selections via campus mail to:

Kelly Ingalsbe Communication and Ag Education 301 Umberger Hall

College Selection Committees may also submit their selections via email to Kelly (ingalsbe@ksu.edu). Contact Debra Wilcox at 785-532-6361 or Kelly Ingalsbe at 785-532-6423 if you have any questions.

Thank you in advance for your time and assistance with nominations!

Please Note: This is not the K- State University Support Staff Award of Excellence. That award is managed by Human Capital Services.