1. K-State home
  2. »Office of Student Sucess
  3. »DSP Homepage

Developing Scholars

Discover DSPApply to become a Developing ScholarDeveloping Scholars Symposium

Celebrating 20 years of Undergraduate Research!  

2019-2020 DSP grou

SAVE THE DATE - 20th Annual DSP Symposium

April 5, 2020

2018-2019 Developing Scholars Awards:

The following awards were presented to DSP students at the 19th Annual Developing Scholars Research Symposium:

  • Pay it Forward Alumni Awards: Jared Medina  (Mechanical Engineering), Leonardo Garrido  (Electrical Engineering)
  • Frank Cortez Memorial Award: Citlally Orozco  (Political Science)
  • Diligence Award: Gina Reyes  (Nutritional Sciences)
  • Promise Awards: Diana Najera  (Biochemistry), Kierra Holloman (Biochemistry), Dallas Rice (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Above & Beyond Award: Bradley Richards (Economics)
  • James R. Coffman Awards of Excellence
    • First year: Nhicolas Aponte (Mechanical Engineering)
    • First year honorable mention: Laura Soto  (Biology)
    • Second year: Derrius Washington (Business Administration)
    • Second year honorable mention: Sonia Barrett (Chemistry)
    • Third year: Olivet Martinez (Biology)
    • Third year honorable mention: Lindsay Chassay  (Psychological Sciences)
  • Eyes on the Prize Award: Ayana Belk (Landscape Architecture)
  • Eclipse Award: David Coria (Mathematics and Physics)
  • Exemplary Scholar Award: Carlos Aguirre  (Computer Science)
  • Anita Cortez Award: Marta Stetsiv   (Biochemistry)

Thank you to everyone who attended our 19th Annual Research Poster Symposium!


Apply to the Developing Scholars Program.

Apply to Kansas State University.

Schedule a Visit to Kansas State University.

Explore scholarship opportunities at Kansas State University.

Scholar Spotlight


Jaasiel Duarte is a junior from Kansas City, Kansas majoring in Architecture. He is an undergraduate researcher under the mentorship of department head of Interior Architecture and Product Design, Nathan Howe. Duarte and Howe have been working on a typology research project, trying to discover and define the elements that architects have been applying throughout history. Why do architects do what they do in a certain way? What patterns do they use and how can we describe them? How did architecture get to this point? Duarte is looking to answer these questions. “Being on the forefront of something new is scary,” Duarte says. “It’s uncomfortable but that’s what pushes us to a new discovery.” The effects of his research can spur new conversations, new meanings, and new ideas that have not yet been explored in the world of architecture.

Duarte acknowledges that doing research as an undergraduate student has been an indispensable experience. He encourages other students to get involved in research and give oneself the opportunity to think outside the box. Students can only gain knowledge and networking experience by getting involved – it’s for anybody and everybody who is ready to put in the work.

In Fall 2017, Duarte was chosen to represent his Architecture Design Studio class in the College of Architecture's annual Bowman Design Forum. He placed third in the competition, receiving a $500 scholarship.