1. K-State home
  2. »REU
  3. »Why KSU REU?
  4. »Faculty Mentors

Research Experiences for Undergraduates Program

Faculty Mentors

Faculty affiliated with the Departments of Biology, EntomologyPlant Pathology, and Statistics at Kansas State University are available to serve as mentors for students in the REU program in Biology at Kansas State University. The pool of prospective mentors includes beginning investigators who are developing new research projects and senior scientists with well-established programs. All mentors have considerable experience supervising research projects by REU students and have directed study projects by undergraduate students working for research credit during the academic year. In total, the faculty members below have mentored hundreds of REU students supported by the REU Site Grants, REU Supplemental Grants or the early University Research Program (URP). The research interests of this group are broad and span a diverse range of ecological and evolutionary disciplines. The faculty are an unusually cohesive unit because of their common ties to the Ecological Genomics Institute, research at Konza Prairie Biological Station, and the associated Konza Prairie LTER program

The Application Form requires that applicants list three mentors that they would be interested in working with.  Please review the areas of research and websites below and select three possible mentors from the list below.  Please note that a few faculty may be unavailable each year because they are traveling for field work or are on sabbatical leave.

Faculty Mentors (listed alphabetically)

John Blair - Ecosystem Ecology 

Alice Boyle - Avian Behavioral, Evolutionary, and Physiological Ecology

John Briggs - Dynamics of Woody Plants

Walter Dodds - Aquatic Ecology

Carolyn Ferguson - Plant Systematics

Keith Gido - Fish Ecology

David Hartnett - Plant Population Biology 

David Haukos - Avian and Wetland Ecology

Trevor Hefley - Applied Statistical Population Models

Mike Herman - Ecological Genomics of Nematodes

Andrew Hope - Mammalian Phylogeography and Speciation

Eva Horne - Behavioral Ecology of Herpetofauna

Loretta Johnson - Plant Ecological Genomics

Ari Jumpponen - Ecology of Soil Microbes and Fungi

Jeremy Marshall - Evolutionary and Speciation Genomics

Martha Mather - Fisheries Ecology

Ted Morgan - Evolutionary Genomics and Quantitative Genetics

Jesse Nippert - Plant Ecophysiology 

Brad Olson - Evolution of Multicellularity

Tom Platt - Microbial Ecology and Evolution


Kathrin Schrick - Plant Genomics and Evolutionary Biology

Michi Tobler - Evolutionary Ecology   

Chris Toomajian - Population Genomics

Mark Ungerer - Ecological Genomics and Genome Evolution 

Michael Veeman - Evolutionary Developmental Biology of the chordate body plan

Ruth Welti - Lipidomics: Studying Metabolites with Mass Spectrometry

Lydia Zeglin - Microbial Ecology