1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »Update
  5. »Statement on new order temporarily banning citizens of seven countries update

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

White House executive order update

Updates for students, faculty and staff concerning the executive order temporarily banning immigrants and refugees from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen from entering the U.S.

Jan. 31, 2017
A letter from President Myers

Dear K-State Family,

The new restrictions on immigration to the United States by residents of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen have affected our local and international communities. Kansas State University remains committed to being an inclusive and welcoming place, as stated in our Principles of Community.

To our K-State international community: You are invaluable members of this university. Your contributions enrich our experiences, knowledge and ability to view the world through a global lens. We want you and your families here with us and will support you any way we can. To remain focused on becoming a Top 50 public research university, we must continue to work together on global problems and have an impact around the world. We cannot achieve our goals without a diverse population that includes international students, faculty and staff.

K-State’s team in the Office of International Student and Scholar Services is in contact with the affected students and scholars and is their first resource for questions. We are advising those impacted by the executive order to stay in the United States for the immediate future. We also advise our faculty and staff from those countries who are U.S. permanent residents or have dual citizenships to monitor the developments closely.

Working together to solve problems and take care of the K-State family is what we are all about. We want you to feel welcome, regardless where you come from, what you believe or who you are. That’s the Wildcat Way.

K-State Proud,

Richard B. Myers

Jan. 29, 2017
Kansas State University's statement on new order temporarily banning citizens of seven countries from entering U.S.

Kansas State University has received multiple inquiries regarding the consequences of President Trump's executive order that temporarily bans citizens of seven countries from entering the U.S. The university sent a message to all international students and scholars to make them aware of the executive order and advising them on international travels. University officials are currently reaching out to all students, faculty and staff who may be affected.

"K-State deeply values the contributions of our international family members and regrets the disruption this situation is causing in their lives," said Richard Myers, president. "As a public research university with global connections, we are concerned about the detrimental effects of this policy on those pursuing academic studies and research. Our immediate task is to explore ways to be supportive of the students and families impacted."

The executive order bans entry for at least 90 days for nationals from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. An initial count indicates Kansas State University has 63 students and three scholars from these countries. There are likely additional students, faculty and staff who hold green cards and might also be affected.

The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) has issued a statement on behalf of its members, which includes Kansas State University. The ban has generated significant confusion and has already adversely affected members of the university communities across the nation.

The situation is fluid and there are legal actions that may affect the status of those involved. The university will post the latest information here. Students, faculty and staff who may be affected are encouraged to contact the Office of International Student and Scholar Services.


The White House's executive order

Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities, APLU, statement on order temporarily banning citizens of seven nations entering the U.S.