Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. October news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Carla Jones, 785-532-7305,
Note to editor: Ariel Anib and Amy Webb are both graduates of Olathe East High School.

Friday, Oct. 29, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's Multicultural Student Honor Society has new members.

"The Multicultural Student Honor Society was founded in 1999 to honor the academic achievements of multicultural students who have been successful at K-State," said Carla Jones, assistant vice president and senior associate dean of students. Jones also serves as the honor society's adviser.

"We wanted to reward students who have persisted to the sophomore year, with 45 hours and beyond, and who have a cumulative K-State grade point average of at least 3.0," Jones said. "Transfer students at the sophomore level who have completed at least one semester at K-State are also eligible."

New members of K-State' s Multicultural Student Honor Society include:

Lee Rathbun, junior in political science, Ellsworth; Maria Gomez, junior in elementary education, Garden City.

From Greater Kansas City: Jazmin Richmond, sophomore in nutritional sciences, Kansas City, Kan.; Jordan Carter, sophomore in construction science and management, Leawood; Amy Webb, junior in psychology, and Ariel Anib, senior in Spanish-Hispanic studies, both from Olathe; and Julia Wallis, sophomore in public relations, Shawnee.

Aubry Walden, sophomore in family and consumer sciences, Hutchinson; Nayive Avelar, sophomore in family studies and human services, Johnson; Angelique Foye, sophomore in psychology and family studies and human services, Junction City; Jasmine Holland, junior in public relations and Spanish, Lansing; Michelle Foster, sophomore in political science and American ethnic studies, Leavenworth; David Hwang, sophomore in biochemistry, and Oladipo Fajimolu, junior in accounting, both from Manhattan; Karessa Lewis, senior in communication sciences and disorders, Ottawa; Caitlin Hogan, sophomore in psychology, Salina; Rebecca Ebert, senior in marketing and Spanish, Wamego; and Gilberto Perez-Abraham, sophomore in theater, Wichita.

From out of state:

Jessica Fouch, senior in regional and community planning, Bartlett, Ill.; and Amanda Van Scoy, junior in architecture, Kula, Hawaii.