Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. October news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Alejandro Sune, 316-323-7809,
News release prepared by: Emily Vietti, 785-532-2535,

Friday, Oct. 15, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's chapter of Delta Sigma Phi fraternity has been named one of the top chapters of the year and awarded a Pyramid of Excellence.

Seven Delta Sigma Phi chapters received the honor this year.

"The Pyramid of Excellence is the highest achievement a Delta Sigma Phi chapter can earn," said Nick Attwater, senior in English, Wichita, and chapter president. "We earned it in 2006, but since then the chapter has had some significant obstacles to overcome. To receive the award again in 2010 means that we're back as one of the top chapters nationally."

"Our chapter is highly involved in all aspects of campus life," said Alex Sune, assistant chapter adviser. "Delta Sigs have consistently had representatives with the Student Governing Association, including three student body presidents, student senate chairs, senators and more. Our members also are members of Quest, Silver Key, Chimes, Blue Key, Union Program Council and much more."

Sune said there are several Delta Sigma Phi alums working on the K-State campus, including Pat Bosco, vice president for student life and dean of students; Jack Taylor, assistant director of undergraduate admissions; and Joe Aistrup, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

"In addition to an increase in academic achievements, our chapter's success on campus can be attributed to an increase in quality recruitment over the past 10 years," Sune said.

The fraternity's fall 2010 officers include:

Joe Falter, freshman in arts and sciences-open option, Hutchinson, recruitment chair; Michael Bennett, junior in regional and community planning, Lawrence, sergeant-at-arms; Steven Cooper, junior in management and marketing, Lenexa, treasurer.

From Manhattan: Hazen Short, junior in microbiology, vice president; Marcus Kidd, sophomore in secondary education, secretary; and Wes Strouts, junior in microbiology, scholarship director.

Gabe Ryan, sophomore in business administration, recruitment chair, Wichita.

From out of state: Matt Castro, senior in fine arts, Houston, Texas, alumni relations director.