Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. November news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Beth Bailey, 785-532-7326,
Note to editor: Jacob Chapman is a graduate of Olathe South High School.
News release prepared by: Emily Vietti, 785-532-2535,

Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2010


MANHATTAN -- The winners of the K-State Student Union Program Council's 36th annual student photography contest were recently announced. Kansas State University students were invited to submit photographs for the contest in early October.

Judging of entries, by a collaboration of professionals, was based on technical quality, visual composition, originality, overall presentation and division placement. The winners received cash prizes in amounts ranging from $10-$100. The first-place winner gets the opportunity to have the photo permanently displayed in the Union.

Students earning honors for their photos include:

Megan Kramer, freshman in art, Clifton, honorable mention for "Blue Eyed Girl"; Connie Fitzpatrick, sophomore in fine arts, Hutchinson, second place for "Nina de-el Sur"; Derrick Weishaar, freshman in arts and sciences-open option, Lawrence, honorable mention for "Asylum"; Jacob Chapman, sophomore in agronomy, Olathe, honorable mention for "San Fran Lights"; Anna Ginder, sophomore in fine arts, Topeka, honorable mention for "Focus on the Road"; and Dylan Rogerson, freshman in theater, Wichita, honorable mention for "Big Red."

From out of state: Roxanne Sanchez, senior in art, West St. Paul, Minn., third place for "Cock-a-doodle-doo"; Bryan Bischof, graduate student in mathematics, Gibsonia, Pa., first place for "Spare" and honorable mention for "Gravity"; and Miranda Gray, graduate student in genetics, New Kensington, Pa., honorable mention for "Thistle."