Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Bill Muir,

Friday, May 13, 2011


MANHATTAN -- Four Kansas State University have earned $1,000 scholarships for their outstanding service to the K-State Student Union.

The Stanley L. Winter Alpha Tau Omega K-State Union Leadership Scholarships were presented at the recent annual K-State Union Program Council/Union Governing Board banquet. Recipients are: Ashley Moore, bachelor's candidate in biology, Beloit; Chris Wallace, bachelor's candidate in psychology, Olathe; Tyler Sharp, senior in mass communications and history, Ottawa; and Anna Knackstedt, bachelor's candidate in French and political science, Winfield.

The Winter Scholarship, established in 1992, is named after Stanley L. "Stan" Winter, a 1986 K-State graduate who died in February 1992 of cancer at the age of 27. Winter was initiated into the K-State chapter of the Alpha Tau Omega fraternity in 1984, served in various offices and was involved campus activities, including the K-State Student Union. He received his master's degree in student counseling from K-State in 1989 and went on to be program director at the University of Northern Colorado Student Union.

The scholarship perpetuates Winter's memory by providing educational opportunities and assistance for upper-level students who possess exemplary attributes in scholarship, fellowship and character.

"We are extremely proud to have this scholarship named after my brother," Kent Winter said. "These four students are the K-State Student Union's outstanding student leaders and possess good, all-around qualities that fit the criteria for this scholarship. I know that Stan would be proud of all of them."

The K-State Alpha Tau Omega Students' Aid Endowment Fund established the Winter scholarship with donations from the Winter Family, brothers of Alpha Tau Omega and friends. Eligible students have at least a 2.5 grade point average and are judged to be of good character, sound academic standing and have contributed to the quality of programs and activities of the union.

"We're very pleased to be able to again offer this scholarship to outstanding students involved in union programs and activities," said Bernard Pitts, executive director of the K-State Student Union. "Special thanks is owed to the local Alpha Tau Omega Endowment Fund and the Winter Family for making this scholarship a reality, and congratulations to Chris, Tyler, Anna and Ashley as this year's scholarship recipients."

Bill Muir, president of the K-State Alpha Tau Omega Students' Aid Endowment Fund, said it was gratifying to award the scholarships in Winter's memory.

"Stan loved the union, he loved his fraternity, he loved K-State, and he loved life in general," Muir said. "It's very appropriate that we memorialize his life of service with these scholarships."

The names of the latest recipients will be added to the scholarship plaque in the union's main concourse; an individual plaque was given to each student.

Moore received the Winter Scholarship for her work on Union Program Council. She has served the union as Arts Committee co-chair for two years and has been instrumental in the Project Runway program. Moore has been on the K-State semester honors list. She has been involved in medical mission trips and Ichthus campus ministry. She currently works as a medical assistant at K-STAT Urgent Care.

Wallace, a K-State honors list student, received the Winter scholarship for his work on the Union Program Council. He has served as council president and its representative to the Union Governing Board. He also served as the council's Entertainment Committee co-chair. He is a housing and dining supervisor at Derby Dining Center and was an orientation leader and a First Tee academy counselor in 2010. He works as a research assistant at the K-State Visual Cognition Lab. Wallace plans to seek a master's degree in counseling and student development at K-State. He is a graduate of Blue Valley West High School.

Sharp is a senior majoring in mass communications and history and will graduate in May 2012. He was elected a member of Union Governing Board in 2008, serving as the 2010-2011 president and as secretary in 2009-2010. As president, he chaired all meetings and represented the union at banquets, ribbon-cuttings and before Student Senate. He served as a student senator and has been both vice chair and chair of the Senate Operations Committee, as well as a member of Delta Upsilon fraternity, where he was secretary, new member educator and executive committee member. He is an A.Q. Miller School of Journalism Bilger Scholar and Eisenhower Scholar. He also has received The Kansas State Collegian Top Feature Writer Award and is active in Boys' State of Kansas.

Knackstedt received the Winter scholarship for her work on Union Program Council. She has served as Multicultural Committee co-chair, Forums Committee co-chair and was this year's Entertainment Committee co-chair. She was integrally involved in the Frank Warren and Jeff Corwin events at the union. Knackstedt has worked on campus at Student Publications and Derby Dining Center. She is a member of Alpha Delta Pi sorority.