Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases
Print This Article  


News release prepared by: Tyler Sharp, 785-532-2535,

Friday, May 13, 2011


SALINA -- Outstanding students and leaders at Kansas State University Salina were recognized with a variety of honors at the recent 25th annual Awards and Recognition Banquet at K-State Salina.

Students earning honors include:

Lori Marcum, senior in animal sciences and industry, Abilene, Outstanding Student in Chemistry; Brandy Hager-Shaw, senior in professional pilot and aviation maintenance, Bucklin, Outstanding Student in Professional Pilot; Thomas Nieto, senior in engineering technology, Lawrence, Computer Systems Technology Award; John Charbonneau, senior in aviation maintenance, Manhattan, Outstanding Student in Aviation Maintenance; Lee Scherman, senior in engineering technology, Paola, Outstanding Student in Electronic and Computer Engineering Technology; Joey Gilsdorf, senior in technology management, Outstanding Student in Construction Engineering Technology, and Andrew Lofgren, senior in engineering technology, Outstanding Student in Mechanical Engineering Technology, both from Salina; Scott Summers, senior in engineering technology, Scott City, Wildcat Pride Award for Dedication; Kalen Fitch, junior in aviation maintenance, South Haven, Larry Caldwell Sportsmanship Award; Antonio "T.J." Hearn, senior in engineering technology, Stafford, Wildcat Pride Award for Community Service; Kristen Lingg, senior in professional pilot, Stockton, Aviation Excellence Award; and Sarah Woodruff, senior in technology management, Wamego, Outstanding Student in Technology Management.

From out of state: Tyler Lewis, freshman in professional pilot and aviation maintenance, Aurora, Colo., second place, Outstanding Essay in Expository Writing; Felix Tse, senior in professional pilot and aviation maintenance, Derwood, Md., Wildcat Pride Award for Determination; Sarah Wildman, senior in professional pilot, South Charleston, Ohio, Aviation Excellence Award; Joshua Royce, sophomore in professional pilot, Turpin, Okla., first place, Outstanding Essay in Expository Writing; and Adam Holloway, senior in professional pilot, McAllen, Texas, Most Inspirational Student of the Year.