[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Susanne Siepl-Coates, 785-532-1122, scoates@k-state.edu
News release prepared by: Diane Potts, 785-532-1090, potts@k-state.edu

Friday, May 21, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Joshua Perez, a May 2010 Kansas State University master's graduate in architecture from Ashton, Ill., is the recipient of the K-State department of architecture's 2010 Heintzelman Prize.

The Heintzelman Prize is awarded annually for outstanding design achievements by students in the final semester of the K-State College of Architecture, Planning and Design professional Master of Architecture degree program. The prize is named after J. Cranston Heintzelman, who was a longtime teacher in the department of architecture.

One student in each of the eight fifth-year class sections was selected by the faculty as a Heintzelman nominee. A distinguished jury then selected one winner and two honorable mention recipients from among the eight nominees.

Perez's winning project was "RePlace 122." His instructor was Ray Streeter, professor of architecture.

K-State architecture students nominated or earning honorable mention for the 2010 Heintzelman Prize include:

Thomas Haller, Leavenworth, nominee for "Collaborative Research Center"; Mitchell Karr, Newton, honorable mention for "Manhattan High School Football Stadium in CiCo Park"; and Andrew Barnes, nominee for "Hazelwood House," and Amanda Garbach, nominee for "The Ad Loft," both from Overland Park.

From out of state:

Bradley Price, Blue Springs, Mo., honorable mention for "Musikhalle"; Rachel Duncan, Dardenne Prairie, Mo., nominee for "Triangle Park"; and Samuel McGlone, San Antonio, Texas, nominee for "Oasis."

The projects are on display through summer 2010 in the Chang Gallery, in the first floor east hallway and the hallway flanking Room 212, all in Seaton Hall.

This year's Heintzelman Prize invited jurors were Pia Sarpaneva, associate professor, School of Architecture, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.; S. Jay Siebenmorgen, design principal, NBBJ, New York, N.Y.; and Jerry Yudelson, Tucson, Ariz. The hosting of jurors and events was underwritten by Davidson-Brown Architects, Engineers and Planners, Lenexa.



[an error occurred while processing this directive]