[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. June news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Andrea Bryant Gladin, 785-532-6260, agladin@k-state.com
Note to editor: Chelsea Heyd is a graduate of Olathe North High School.
News release prepared by: Tim Lindemuth, 785-532-5061, tlindemuth@k-state.com

Thursday, June 3, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Eighteen Kansas State University students have been selected to serve on the 2010 Student Homecoming Committee. They join six returning and eight appointed students who will be organizing Homecoming Week, Oct. 24-30, which ends with the football game against Oklahoma State University Oct. 30.

The eight appointed positions include the two K-State Student Ambassadors; two Greek Affairs representatives; two Association of Residence Halls representatives; a student from the Jardine Terrace Apartments; and a student representing the National Pan Hellenic Council, who will be appointed later.

The committee is responsible for selecting and planning all homecoming events, creating rules and guidelines for the student competitions, promoting the week and providing staffing for all events.

"Work has already started on this year's Homecoming activities," said Andrea Bryant Gladin, associate director of alumni programs for the K-State Alumni Association and All-University Homecoming chair. "These students were selected because they are such a motivated and creative group of individuals."

Members of the K-State Student Homecoming Committee include:

Carrie Dotson, Andover, returning member; Kianne Campbell, Arkansas City, new member; David Allen, Caldwell, Interfraternity Council representative; Sophie Mans, Garden Plain, returning member.

From Greater Kansas City: Drew Rhodes, Gardner, returning member; Chelsea Heyd, Olathe, K-State Association of Residence Halls representative; Brooke Lindell, new member, Danielle Lucas, new member, and Alli Meyer, new member, all from Overland Park; Sam Barker, Prairie Village, new member; and Stephanie Larson, K-State Student Ambassador and appointed member, and Andrew Waldman, new member, both from Shawnee.

Samantha Strate, Kinsley, new member; Katie Kermashek, Leavenworth, Jardine Terrace Apartments representative; Robert Tibbets, Liberal, new member; Chelsey Barnes, new member, and Alysha Bellamy, new member, both from Manhattan; Allegra Gigstad, Nortonville, new member; Miranda Everhart, Salina, new member.

From Topeka: Sarah Gillespie, new member; Drew Manker, returning member; and Derek McKinney, returning member.

Grant Hill, Valley Center, new member.

From Wichita: Andrew Bowman, new member; Kelsey Flickner, new member; Bre Hennes, returning member; and Austin Waldo, new member.

From out of state: Susan Norris, Littleton, Colo., new member; Jacquie Lewis, Pembroke Pines, Fla., Panhellenic Council representative; Amy Parsons, Hadley, Mass., K-State Association of Residence Halls representative; and Ryan Wilkerson, Columbia, Mo., K-State Student Ambassador and appointed member.



[an error occurred while processing this directive]