[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. January news releases
Print This Article  


Note to editor: Kyle Reynolds, senior in family studies and human services, is a graduate of Olathe Northwest High School.
News release prepared by: Shanna Williams, shannaw@found.ksu.edu, 785-532-7548

Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2011


MANHATTAN -- The K-State Proud Campaign is back in its fifth year of students helping students. The campaign is the first all-university, student-led campaign at Kansas State University.

K-State Proud is guided by the leadership of the K-State Student Foundation, as well as four co-chairs, an advisory board of K-State students and an honorary chair.

K-State Proud gives students the opportunity to help their fellow students and show their pride through philanthropy. All student campaign donations go toward K-State Proud Student Opportunity Awards for fellow K-State students. This year's campaign goal is $100,000.

2011 campaign co-chairs and members of the K-State Proud Advisory Board members include:

Kyle Reynolds, junior in arts and sciences-open option, Andover; Anna Govert, junior in agricultural economics, Cunningham; Chris Kellenbarger, freshman in business administration, Derby.

From Greater Kansas City: Ariel Sinha, junior in public relations, Gardner, campaign co-chair; Matthew Loeb, senior in microbiology, and Mitchell Loeb, senior in nutritional sciences, both from Leawood; Blair Konczal, freshman in pre-journalism and mass communications, and Justin Scott, junior in political science, both from Lenexa; Newell Bowman, junior in women's studies, Mike Ellis, senior in biology, Mariel Martinez, senior in nutritional sciences, Jake New, junior in food science and industry; Kyle Reynolds, senior in family studies and human services; Andrew Satterlee, senior in biological engineering and chemical engineering, Sarah Satterlee, senior in elementary education, and Erin White, junior in political science, all from Overland Park; and Claire Carlson, freshman in agricultural communications and journalism, Carolyn Gatewood, sophomore in pre-professional secondary education, Stephanie Larson, senior in elementary education, and Andrew Waldman, junior in industrial engineering, Shawnee.

Taylor Concannon, senior in political science, Hugoton.

From Hutchinson: Megan Barnett, junior in anthropology and modern languages; Reed Pankratz, senior in mass communications and marketing; and Brennan Richman, senior in biology.

Drew Goering, senior in park management and conservation, Inman; Dylan Works, senior in political science, economics and finance, Iola; Courtney Hallenbeck, junior in sociology, Junction City; Nicholas Moeder, senior in finance and accounting, LaCrosse; Michelle Colgan, second-year student in veterinary medicine, Lawrence; Casey Dwyer, junior in communication studies, Lyons.

From Manhattan: Samuel Brinton, senior in mechanical engineering-nuclear option and vocal music performance; John Grice, senior in political science, campaign co-chair; Eli Logan, junior in architecture; Cassandra Robinson, senior in mechanical engineering; and Katy Zapletal, junior in kinesiology.

Jammie Layman, senior in philosophy, Marysville; Abby Guenther, sophomore in food science and industry, Ottawa; Becky Sullivan, senior in agricultural communications and journalism, Paola, campaign co-chair; Tyler Johnson, sophomore in business administration, Parsons; Hillary Boyle, junior in accounting, and Scott Summers, senior in engineering technology, both from Salina; Phil Harner, senior in industrial engineering, St. George, campaign co-chair; Abbey Brown, sophomore in business administration, and Drew Hansen, junior in music education, both from Topeka.

From Wichita: Alice Jones, junior in family studies and human services; Rachel King, junior in political science and communication studies; and McKenzie Snow, senior in political science.

From out of state: Ryan Wilkerson, senior in accounting and finance, Columbia, Mo.; and Ross Jensby, freshman in political science, Beatrice, Neb.

The honorary chair for this year's campaign is Frank Tracz, K-State professor of music and director of bands. "I deal with literally a thousand K-State students each year and they are some of the most caring, hardworking and genuine people I have encountered," Tracz said. "The fact that there is such a devoted group as K-State Proud is a true testament to what being a K-Stater really means.

"We all have times in our lives when we need someone or something to help us through those challenging and difficult times, someone to say they care, and someone to get us back on track -- K-State Proud answers the call," he said. "'Students helping students' is more than a slogan here, it's a way of life. A wise man once said that you can't pay back, but you can certainly pay forward. What a fantastic organization this is. I'm proud to be a Wildcat, and even prouder to be honorary chair of the K-State Proud campaign."

Tracz received his bachelor's degree in music education and doctor of philosophy from Ohio State University, and his master's in music from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He has received numerous awards and accolades during his career at K-State, including the Stamey award for teaching excellence, the Mortar Board Outstanding Faculty Member Award, and most recently the Outstanding Bandmaster Award from the Kansas Bandmasters Association and Phi Beta Mu.

The "students helping students" theme extends to K-State Proud's promotional material. Each year the campaign's logo is selected from a number of prospective designs created in the Matrix Studio and Business Practices, an undergraduate graphic design class. The 2011 logo was selected from a pool of 40 designs. Amanda Winkler, senior in fine arts, Seneca, created this year's design. The logo will appear on all of the campaign's T-shirts, which will be available during K-State Proud Week, Feb. 14–19. Alumni can purchase shirts at the K-State Proud Basketball Game, Saturday, Feb. 19, or by visiting the K-State Proud website at http://www.k-stateproud.org. The site also has more information about the campaign.

The K-State Proud Campaign is sponsored by Cox Communications, Wichita, and GTM Sportswear, Manhattan.

The Kansas State University Student Foundation focuses on raising awareness among current and future alumni about the importance of giving back to K-State, and cultivating philanthropy across the university.


[an error occurred while processing this directive]