[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. February news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Kiley Moody, 785-532-6318, kmoody@k-state.edu

Wednesday, Feb. 9, 2011


MANHATTAN -- Five future Kansas State University students, all high school seniors, have earned $5,000 scholarships named in honor of former Kansas Sen. Nancy Kassebaum-Baker.

The Kassebaum Scholarship recognizes students whose academic and extracurricular achievements reflect the potential for and desire to make a difference through energetic leadership in the public service arena. K-State received 146 applications for the scholarship, and a selection committee chose 11 finalists to interview Jan. 24 for the award.

The 2011 Kassebaum Scholarship recipients are: Coleman Jackson, Cedar Point, Chase County High School; Landon Leiker, Marion, Marion High School; Suhani Gandhi, Olathe, Olathe South High School; Hope Faflick, Wichita, Wichita East High School; and Adam Wilkerson, Columbia, Mo., Rock Bridge High School.

"K-State is honored to recognize students who have a passion for public service and want to pursue a career in this area. I'm confident these students will have a lasting impact at K-State and do great things for our university," said Kirk Schulz, K-State president.

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services supports the Kassebaum Scholarship program. Steve Sweeney, Chartwell's president and CEO said, "We're proud to help students succeed in accomplishing their life goals through our partnership with Kansas State University. Congratulations to all of the students embarking on a promising academic career at K-State."

Finalists for the Kassebaum Scholarship also included:

Abby Works, Iola, Iola High School; Kara Cavalli, Lincoln, Lincoln High School; Kelsey Madden, Olathe, Olathe East High School; Ross Allen, Soldier, Jackson Heights High School; and Zach Madel, Topeka, Washburn High School.

From out of state: Hannah Priolo, Mesquite, Texas, John Horn High School.


[an error occurred while processing this directive]