Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. February news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Kiley Moody, 785-532-6318,
News release prepared by: Erinn Barcomb-Peterson, 785-532-6415,

Friday, Feb. 4, 2011


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University has selected recipients of the university's 2011 Civic Leadership Scholarships, which are sponsored by Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services.

Eleven high school seniors were named scholarship finalists for demonstrating a commitment to serving others in their community, school or place of worship. They competed in an on-campus interview and recognition day Jan. 20. The competition rewards students who are making a difference and demonstrating creativity by developing projects and programs with a lasting impact on those they serve. A summary of each winner's civic engagement is available at

John Carlin, former Kansas governor and a professor at the K-State School of Leadership Studies, served as honorary chairman of the competition. Carlin provided a supportive voice to all the finalists, said Kiley Moody, assistant coordinator of new student services.

Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services contribute funding for three top scholarship awards -- $4,000 for first place, $2,500 for second place and $2,000 for third place. Scholarship recipients may renew the scholarship with a 3.33 cumulative grade point average for up to three additional years as Wicks Civic Leadership Scholars. Finalists who were not awarded one of the top three scholarships received $500 scholarships, also supported by Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services.

"Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services are committed to giving back to our communities and are proud to be a part of the civic leadership scholarship program, which honors young people who are making a difference in their respective communities," said Dan Yunk, CEO and president of Kansas Farm Bureau.

Recipients, their hometown, scholarship amount and high school include:

Briana Reece, Benton, $500, Circle High School; Dalton Mott, Independence, $500, Independence High School; Lindsay Albracht, Kansas City, Kan., $500, Piper High School; Landon Leiker, Marion, $2,500, Marion High School; Suhani Gandhi, Olathe, $500, Olathe South High School; Tyler Clark, St. John, $500, St. John High School; Aubrey Knox, Salina, $500, Southeast of Saline High School; and Jared Wendelburg, Stafford, $500, Stafford High School.

From out of state: Emily Rudder, Genoa, Colo., $500, Limon High School; Amy West, Westcliffe, Colo., $4,000, Custer County High School; and Julia Fuquay, Mooresville, N.C., $2,000, Lake Norman High School.