[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. April news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Anita Dille, 785-532-7240, dieleman@k-state.edu
Note to editor: Morgan Bertison is a graduate of Olathe North High School.
News release prepared by: Beth Bohn, 785-532-2535, bbohn@k-state.edu

Monday, April 26, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the honor society of agriculture, has recognized several K-State students for excellence in research, teaching and academics.

The students were honored at the Gamma Sigma Delta Spring Recognition Reception April 23.

Students receiving Gamma Sigma Delta student research awards and graduate student teaching awards each received $100 and certificates. The honor society's Junior Honor Award was presented to outstanding students in agriculture and related fields who have at least a 3.8 grade point average, were classified as undergraduate juniors or in their third year of veterinary medicine in the fall 2009 semester, and have completed at least 30 hours of course work at K-State.

Students receiving honors from Gamma Sigma Delta and their majors include:

Jessica Harrison, veterinary medicine, and Hannah Weimer, animal sciences and industry, both from Andover and both Junior Honor Awards; Traci Rothlisberger, agricultural economics, Barnes, Junior Honor Award; Kyle Essley, agricultural economics, Baxter Springs, Junior Honor Award; Brady Luke, animal sciences and industry, Beloit, Junior Honor Award; Teri Swander, animal sciences and industry, Burlingame, Junior Honor Award; Anna Binder, dietetics, Emporia, Junior Honor Award.

From Greater Kansas City: Marcela Gonzalez, nutritional sciences, Kansas City, Kan., Junior Honor Award; Jill Dispensa, veterinary medicine, Kansas City, Mo., Junior Honor Award; Kaitlyn DeBacco, public health nutrition, and Emily Tummons, biological systems engineering, both from Leawood and both Junior Honor Awards; Morgan Bertison, animal sciences and industry, and Keshia McAfee, food science and industry, both from Olathe and both Junior Honor Awards; Jessica Rodriguez, food science and industry, and Anna Zeiger, nutritional sciences, both from Overland Park, and both Junior Honor Awards; Angela Tran, agronomy, Prairie Village, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Research Award; and Jessica Bocquin, dietetics, Shawnee, Junior Honor Award.

Lyndee Patterson, agricultural economics and agricultural communications and journalism, Holton, Junior Honor Award; Caroline Bacon, bakery science and management, and Andy Newsum, agricultural education, both from Hutchinson and both Junior Honor Awards.

From Manhattan: Morgan Bernal, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award; Richard Brooksby, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award; Jesse Brown, horticulture, Junior Honor Award; Bethany Porter Grabow, agronomy, Outstanding Master's Student Teaching Award; Sarah Guengerich, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award; Kimberley Gowens Hosking, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award; Erin Kane, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award; Hannah Kim, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award; Stacy Kraus, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award; Lynn Leuthold, agricultural education, Junior Honor Award; Kelley Nelson, nutritional sciences, Junior Honor Award; Susanna Parks, food and nutrition-exercise science, Junior Honor Award; Jasdee Saini, food science, Outstanding Doctoral Student Teaching Award; and Melanie Summers, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award.

Kari Friedrichs, biological and agricultural engineering, Marysville, Junior Honor Award; Dennis Becker, agricultural education, Melvern, Junior Honor Award; Jenna Petesch, animal sciences and industry, Meriden, Junior Honor Award; James Gilpin, agricultural education, Parsons, Junior Honor Award; Lloyd Martin, biological and agricultural engineering, Pittsburg, Junior Honor Award; Katherine Edwards, veterinary medicine, St. George, Junior Honor Award; Elizabeth Holmgren, animal sciences and industry, Salina, Junior Honor Award; Preston Smith, agribusiness, Sharon Springs, Junior Honor Award; Daniel Madden, animal sciences and industry, Topeka, Junior Honor Award.

From Wichita: Cassandra Cook, dietetics, Junior Honor Award; Andrea Eyler, veterinary medicine, Junior Honor Award; Brittany Ganzer, nutritional sciences, Junior Honor Award; and Melanie Ray, animal sciences and industry, Junior Honor Award.

From out of state:

Alison Meyer, nutritional sciences and life sciences, West Des Moines, Iowa, Junior Honor Award; Jennifer Bednarcik, veterinary medicine, California, Md., Junior Honor Award; Natalie Schreyer, animal sciences and industry, Mankato, Minn., Junior Honor Award; Kathleen Neugebauer, animal sciences and industry, Grandview, Mo., Junior Honor Award; Lauren Hand, nutritional sciences, Lee's Summit, Mo., Junior Honor Award.

From Nebraska: Megan Haney, animal sciences and industry, Lincoln, Junior Honor Award; Lance Schmidt, animal sciences and industry, Monroe, Junior Honor Award; and Charley Cull, animal sciences and industry, Oakland, Junior Honor Award.

Jacob Kiefer, animal sciences and industry, Boonton, N.J., Junior Honor Award; Caitlyn Romero, animal sciences and industry, Tucumcari, N.M., Junior Honor Award; Jennifer Brewer, veterinary medicine, Akron, N.Y., Junior Honor Award; Nimrod Arad, veterinary medicine, Oyster Bay Cove, N.Y., Junior Honor Award; Louis Anderson, veterinary medicine, Buchanon, N.D., Junior Honor Award; Austin Domek, veterinary medicine, Ypsilanti, N.D., Junior Honor Award; Aaron Yoder, horticulture, Bluffton, Ohio, Junior Honor Award; and John Ayers, veterinary medicine, Goodlettsville, Tenn., Junior Honor Award.

From out of country: Melania Martinez, food science and industry, Costa Rica, Junior Honor Award; Anand Mohan, December 2009 doctoral graduate in food science, India, Outstanding Doctoral Student Research Award; Juhui Jeong, bakery science and management, South Korea, Junior Honor Award; and Dimanthi Jayatilake, agronomy, Outstanding Master's Student Research Award, and Jithma Abeykoon, biochemistry, Junior Honor Award, both from Sri Lanka.



[an error occurred while processing this directive]