[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. April news releases
Print This Article  


Sources: Emily Lehning, 785-532-6237, lehning@k-state.edu;
and Lindsay Graber, lngraber@k-state.edu
Note to editor: Rebecca Sullivan is a graduate of Spring Hill High School.
News release prepared by: Beth Bohn, 785-532-6415, bbohn@k-state.edu

Wednesday, April 7, 2010


MANHATTAN -- A senior leadership honor society that recognizes college students for excellence in scholarship, leadership and service has selected new members for the 2010-2011 school year at Kansas State University.

Membership to Blue Key is based on all-around leadership in student life, high scholastic achievement, service to others and citizenship. To be eligible, students also must have at least a 3.0 grade point average and significant leadership experience in at least two student or community organizations.

Blue Key activities include supervising Quest, K-State's freshman leadership honorary; putting on the annual U-Speak Conference for high school students interested in speaking out on today's issues; and being host to the Leadership Appreciation Reception to recognize students across campus for their leadership.

Blue Key members also provide Peer Leadership Consulting, which is free training for K-State students, clubs and organizations for developing leadership and team skills through interactive presentations. In addition, Blue Key annually awards thousands of dollars in scholarships to K-State undergraduates each year. The awards include $500 scholarships for leadership and service.

New members of Blue Key at K-State, who will all be seniors for the 2010-2011 school year, their major and their Blue Key leadership position include:

From Greater Kansas City: Hannah Hoisington, management and marketing, director of membership, and Kelby Polfer, apparel marketing, director of banquets and recognition, both from Leawood; Anna Zeiger, nutritional sciences, Overland Park, co-director of Quest; and Annie Oliver, life sciences, Prairie Village, co-director of Catalyst.

Taylor Concannon, political science, Hugoton, co-director of high school leadership conferences; Reed Pankratz, public relations, Hutchinson, director of publications; John Grice, political science, co-director of high school leadership conferences, and Danny Unruh, food science and industry and political science, co-director of Catalyst, both from Manhattan; Rebecca Sullivan, agricultural communications and journalism, Paola, director of training and development; Kyle Merklein, civil engineering and premedicine, Prairie View, director of Peer Leadership Consulting; Emily Surdez, agriculture communications and journalism, Sabetha, president; and Bret Hanson, management, Wamego, vice president.

From out of state: Carissa Loehr, interior architecture and product design, Eagan, Minn., director of alumni and scholarships; and Ryan Wilkerson, finance and accounting, Columbia, Mo., co-director of Quest.



[an error occurred while processing this directive]