Welcome to the 6th Annual

Women of Distinction Recognition Ceremony

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Union Ballroom



Women of Distinction Recognition Ceremony

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Union Ballroom

3:30 p.m. Ceremony

Reception to Follow

Opening	. Chardie Baird
Welcome	. April Mason
University Awards	Chardie Baird
KAWSE Awards	Chardie Baird
New Associate Professors	Beth Montelone
Associate Professors who have earned Tenure.	.Beth Montelone
New Full Professors	Beth Montelone
Promotion to Clinical Full Professors	.Beth Montelone
New Endowed Professors	Ruth Dyer
New Assistant Deans	Ruth Dyer
New Vice Presidents	.Ruth Dyer
Closing	.Chardie Baird

University Awards

Dawn Caldwell Presidential Award of Excellence for Unclassified

Professionals; Agricultural Experiment Station,

College of Agriculture

Tami Duch Presidential Award for Excellence in Undergraduate

Advising; Deans Office, College of Arts and Sciences

Lisa Duer Presidential Award of Excellence for Unclassified

Professionals; College of Veterinary Medicine Administration Office, College of Veterinary

Medicine

Tess Hobson The Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation

Presidential Faculty and Staff Award for Distinguished Services to Historically Underrepresented Students; Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative

Inquiry

Cathie Lavis The Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation

Outstanding Teaching Award; Department of Horticulture & Natural Resources, College of

Agriculture

Ashley Rhodes Presidential Award for Excellence in Undergraduate

Teaching; Division of Biology, College of Arts and

Sciences

Marlene VerBrugge K-State Excellence in Engagement Award;

School of Family Studies and Human Services,

College of Human Ecology

Karin Westman Presidential Award for Outstanding Department

Head; Department of English, College of Arts and

Sciences

KAWSE Award

Brenee King KAWSE Award; Kansas Louis Stokes Alliance for

Minority Participation, Office of the Provost

New Associate Professors

Marta Alfonso-Durruty Department of Sociology, Anthropology, & Social

Work, College of Arts and Sciences

Anne Beamish Department of Landscape Architecture and Regional

& Community Planning, College of Architecture,

Planning and Design

Necia Chronister Department of Modern Languages

College of Arts and Sciences

Revathi Govind Division of Biology

College of Arts and Sciences

Soo-Hye Han Department of Communication Studies

College of Arts and Sciences

Jamie Henningson Department of Diagnostic Medicine/Pathobiology

College of Veterinary Medicine

New Associate Professors

Cassandra Jones Department of Animal Science and Industry

College of Agriculture

Siny Joseph Arts, Sciences, & Business

K-State Polytechnic

Mary Kohn Department of English

College of Arts and Sciences

New Associate Professors continued

Carla Martinez Machain Department of Political Science

College of Arts and Sciences

Sherri Martinie Department of Curriculum and Instruction

College of Education

Karen McLaughlin Large School of Music, Theatre, and Dance

College of Arts and Sciences

Pavithra Prabhakar Department of Computer Science

College of Engineering

Sarah Riforgiate Department of Communication Studies

College of Arts and Sciences

Lisa Shappee K-State Polytechnic Library

K-State Polytechnic

Mykel Taylor Department of Agricultural Economics

College of Agriculture

Dana Vanlandingham Department of Diagnostic Medicine/Pathobiology

College of Veterinary Medicine

Amber Vennum School of Family Studies and Human Services

College of Human Ecology

Susan Yelich-Biniecki Department of Educational Leadership

College of Education

Associate Professors who have earned Tenure

Gretchen Sassenrath Department Agronomy

College of Agriculture

New Full Professors

Barbara Anderson Department of Apparel, Textile, and Interior Design

College of Human Ecology

Sherry Fleming Division of Biology

College of Arts and Sciences

Tanya Gonzalez Department of English

College of Arts and Sciences

Sandy Johnson Department of Animal Science and Industry

College of Agriculture

Lauren Ritterbush Department of Sociology, Anthropology, & Social

Work, College of Arts and Sciences

Promotion to Clinical Full Professors

Susan Nelson Department of Clinical Sciences

College of Veterinary Medicine

New Endowed Professors

Cornelia Caragea The Lloyd T. Smith Creativity in Engineering Chair;

Department of Computer Sciences

College of Engineering

Melanie Derby College of Engineering Keystone Research Faculty

Scholar; Department of Mechanical and Nuclear

Engineering, College of Engineering

Pavithra Prabhakar Peggy and Gary Edwards Chair in Engineering;

Department of Computer Sciences

College of Engineering

New Endowed Professors Continued

Jessica Heier Stamm College of Engineering Keystone Research Faculty

Scholar; Department of Industrial and Manufacturing

Systems Engineering, College of Engineering

New Assistant Deans

Sandy Klein Agriculture Academic Programs Office

College of Agriculture

New Vice Presidents

Beth Montelone Senior Associate Vice President for Research

Office for the Vice President for Research

Presented by:



Office for the Advancement of Women in Science and Engineering