# Women of Distinction Recognition Ceremony

Thursday, September 4, 2014 Union Ballroom 3:30 p.m. Reception 4:00 p.m. Ceremony

# **University Mentoring Awards**

LaVerne Bitsie-Baldwin – Commerce Bank Presidential Faculty and Staff Award for Distinguished Services to Historically-Underrepresented Students Multicultural Engineering Program, College of Engineering

# **University Advising Award**

Cathie Lavis – *Presidential Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising* Department of Horticulture, Forestry and Recreation Resources, College of Agriculture

# **University-Wide Awards**

Stephanie Rolley – *Presidential Award for Outstanding Department Head* Department of Landscape Architecture and Regional & Community Planning, College of Architecture, Planning and Design

Cindy Von Elling – Classified Employee of the Year Department of University Archives and Special Collections, K-State Libraries

Jan Middendorf – President's Award of Excellence for Unclassified Professionals Office of Educational Innovation and Evaluation, College of Education

# New Associate Professors

Cheryl Boyer - Department of Horticulture, Forestry and Recreation Resources, College of Agriculture Sonya Britt - School of Family Studies and Human Services, College of Human Ecology Gayle Doll – School of Family Studies and Human Services, College of Human Ecology Teresa Douthit - Department of Animal Sciences and Industry, College of Agriculture Jessica Falcone - Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work, College of Arts and Sciences Alisa Garni - Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work, College of Arts and Sciences Brianne Heidbreder - Department of Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences Kim Hiller – Department of Apparel, Textiles, and Interior Design, College of Human Ecology Jeong-Hee Kim - Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education Katie Kingery-Page - Department of Interior Architecture & Product Design, College of Architecture, Planning and Design A. Abby Knoblauch – Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences Katrina Lewis - Department of Interior Architecture and Product Design, College of Architecture, Planning and Design Cindy Logan - Department of Undergraduate and Community Services, K-State Libraries Lisa Melander - Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work, College of Arts and Sciences Kara Northway - Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences

Lisa Pohlman – Department of Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiology, College of Veterinary Medicine Shireen Roshanravan – Department of American Ethnic Studies, College of Arts and Sciences Patricia Thompson – School of Music, Theatre, and Dance, College of Arts and Sciences Mary Hale Tolar – Department of Educational Leadership, College of Education

# Associate Professors who have been granted Tenure

Vibhavari Jani – Department of Interior Architecture and Product Design, College of Architecture, Planning and Design

#### New Full Professors

Patricia Ackerman – Department of Arts, Sciences, and Business, K-State Salina
Kathy Brockway – Department of Arts, Sciences, and Business, K-State Salina
Geraldine Craig – Department of Art, College of Arts and Sciences
Sunanda Dissanayake – Department of Civil Engineering, College of Engineering
Stacy Hutchinson – Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, College of Engineering
Rhonda Janke – Department of Horticulture, Forestry and Recreation Resources, College of Agriculture
Kimberly Kramer – Department of Architectural Engineering and Construction Science, College of Engineering
Melody LeHew – Department of Apparel, Textiles, and Interior Design, College of Human Ecology
Lorena Passarelli – Division of Biology, College of Arts and Sciences
Alysia Starkey – Library, K-State Salina
Anna Zolkiewska – Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, College of Arts and Sciences

# **New University Distinguished Professors**

Sandra Stith – School of Family Studies and Human Services, College of Human Ecology

# **New Directors**

Dorothy Durband – School of Family Studies and Human Services, College of Human Ecology

# New Associate Deans

Louise Benjamin – Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences Alysia Starkey – Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, K-State Salina

# **New Vice Presidents**

Cindy Bontrager – Vice President for Administration and Finance Karen Burg – Vice President for Research Cheryl Johnson – Vice President for Human Capital Services



Women in Science and Engineering

Women of K-State