1. K-State home
  2. »Arts and Sciences
  3. »History
  4. »Undergraduate Program
  5. »Undergraduate Scholarships

Department of History

History Department Undergraduate Scholarships

To be considered for one of the department's scholarships, you must submit an application to the Kansas State University Office of Student Financial Assistance. This application is submitted electronically; the deadline for submission of this application is generally around the 1st of February each year. To fill out and submit a general K-State scholarship application, go to the following website http://www.k-state.edu/sfa/scholarships/.

History Department-specific scholarship applications are made available in mid-to-late March each year. Both paper and electronic submissions of the scholarship application are accepted. Only those students who return the department's application form by the due date are given further consideration for History scholarships.

For more information, please contact the History Department at hoffice@ksu.edu or 785-532-6730.

Charles M. Correll Memorial History Scholarship

The recipient of this scholarship will be an undergraduate student properly enrolled in the Department of History in the College of Arts and Sciences at Kansas State University who exhibits financial need.

Garrett Family Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 2016 in order to honor William and Margaret Garrett and to provide financial assistance to students enrolled as majors in the Department of History. Applicants who are academically driven and exhibit financial need will be given preference.

Cora Stewart Wilcoxon Undergraduate Scholarship

The purpose of this scholarship is to perpetuate the memory of George Dent Wilcoxon and his mother, Cora Stewart Wilcoxon, and to provide financial assistance to undergraduate students properly enrolled in the Department to History in the College of Arts and Sciences at Kansas State University.

Leo and Irene Chapman Excellence in History Scholarship

Mr. Mark Chapman, a KSU alumnus, who has maintained his interest in KSU and has a love of history, in honor of his parents, Leo and Irene Chapman, established this scholarship in 2004. In addition to considering scholarship applicants, the Scholarship Committee considers students nominated by the rest of the faculty. Financial need is not a factor in awarding this scholarship. One $4,000 scholarship for a student, generally a junior or senior, who has demonstrated personal initiative as well as commitment to the discipline of history and who has compiled an outstanding record of academic achievement.

Josie S. Sanders Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 2004 by Professor Charles Sanders in memory of his late wife Jo Sanders. There is one $500 scholarship for an incoming freshman or transfer student.

Robert D. Linder History Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 1987 in honor of Dr. Robert Linder, a native Kansan and Professor of History at Kansas State University since 1965, by his numerous friends and former students. The goal is to eventually have an endowment sufficient to fund four annual scholarships of approximately $1000 each to be awarded each year to an outstanding freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior respectively - renewable up to four years per student (dependent upon maintaining an overall 3.0 GPA). Nominations are accepted from KSU History faculty and by any high school or social studies teacher. Dr. Linder was formerly known as "Cowboy Bob"; because of his interest in Australian church history; he has come to be known as "Crocodile Bob." He was named a University Distinguished Professor by Kansas State in 2003, and retired in the Spring of 2018. There are currently two scholarships of $1,000 each awarded - one to a junior, and one to a senior. There is an active fundraising campaign for this scholarship to reach the goal of adding a $1,000 scholarship for a sophomore and freshman each year as well. In addition to considering scholarship applicants for this award, the Committee considers students nominated by the rest of the faculty or Kansas history or social studies teachers.

Brendon M. Guth - Mary Vanier KSU Family Scholarship

Both undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in the Department of History in the College of Arts and Sciences are eligible for this award. Awards may be renewed. Funds placed in the expendable balance will be awarded as one (1) $2,000 scholarship annually, for the first five years. The first funds were awarded in Fall 2019.

Friends of History Scholarship

The History Department began using some of the monies donated to the Friends of History to fund two scholarships in 2004. There are two scholarships awarded of $500 each.

Lois Belle Turner Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 1973 to perpetuate the memory of Lois B. Turner, a member of the History Department faculty from 1943-1967. Professor Turner received a BS from K-State in 1941 and a MS from K-State in 1946. She was known for her innovative and creative teaching style. When she died at age 58 from polio, her two brothers established this scholarship to give recognition and financial assistance to deserving undergraduate students majoring in history, preferably a graduate of an accredited Kansas high school. The donors expressed the hope that recipients selected will be scholastically capable and of good moral character and social conduct, emphasizing that Professor Turner "did not approve of student sit-ins, mob-ins and destruction of property" and are not interested in seeing that such individuals are "financed by this fund." There will be one or two scholarships. Amounts vary from $500-$750.

Golda M. Crawford History Scholarship for Juniors & for Seniors

This scholarship was established in 1987 by Gavin Merle Crawford, a 1925 Kansas State engineering graduate, in honor of his sister, Professor Golda Crawford. (He set up an engineering scholarship in his name at the same time.) Professor Crawford earned her BS at Kansas State in 1928, an MS at Kansas State in 1940, and a PhD from Syracuse University in 1963. Known for her sense of humor, Professor Crawford taught history for 31 years, retiring in 1977; she had also served as an advisor in the Dean's Office. There will be one or two scholarships awarded to students who will be juniors and one or two students who will be seniors. Amounts vary from $500-$800.