1. K-State home
  2. »Arts and Sciences
  3. »Department of Geology
  4. »Awards and Honors

Department of Geology

2017Congratulations to: 
  Nina Ataee & Victoria FitzgeraldNina and Victoria received the KSU A&S Graduate Student Research Award.
  Karina Galinskaya, Victoria Fitzgerald and Nina Ataee

Karina, Victoria and Nina got the Graduate  Student Council Travel Award to facilitate travel to a conference. 

 Victoria Fitzgerald Congrats to Victoria, who receives a Graduate Student Council Travel Award of for her trip to the 15th International Conference for Luminescence and Electron Spin Resonance Dating in September.  
 Dr. Aida FaroughDr. Farough received ($5,000) in funding for development of GEOL 103 "Geology Laboratory" as an Open/Alternative textbook course.
 Dr. Sabreen GadDr. Gad received Global Campus funding ( $8,794) for development of GEOL 115 "Environmental Geology" as an online course. 
 Dr. Aida FaroughDr. Farough was selected to receive an Academic Advising Summer Institute Scholarship by NACADA, the Global Community for Academic Advising. The Institutes will be held in June 18-23, 2017 in Daytona Beach, FL. Dr. Farough's participation in the Institute will not only help geology majors succeed, it also enables her to better serve KSU and NACADA. 
 Chris WiermanCongrats to Chris who was awarded a Society of Economic Geologists Student Research Grant to help support his research on Cu behavior in flood basalts and implications for ore deposits.
 Victoria FitzgeraldCongratulations to Victoria who received the AAUW Career Development Grant.
 Mikaela RaderContratulations to Mikaela for winning the Arts and Sciences Summer 2017 Research Sholarship.
 Alexandria Richard, Karina Galinskaya and Chris WiermanCongratulations to Allie, Karina, and Chris who received the Geological Society of America Graduate Research Award.
 William Hagood, Mikaela Rader and Tyler VaughnCongratulations to William, Mikaela and Tyler who received the Kansas Geological Foundation Scholarship.
 Taylor Crawford & Allison WalkerCongratulations to Taylor and Allison who have been nominated to Phi Beta Kappa.
 Victoria FitzgeraldCongratulations to Victoria Fitzgerald who has been awarded a highly prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship to support her research on the timing of Lake Bonnevile Megalake regression.
 Ganiyat ShodunkeGaniyat Shodunke received an award from the Association of Earth Science Clubs of Greater Kansas City! Congrats!
 Adam Lane, Sarah Lamm, Ryan Keast & Victoria FitzgeraldEach student received a generous scholarship from the Kansas Geological Foundation! Congrats!
 Dr. Aida FaroughAida Farough received a professional development grant from the University Advising Committee. Congrats! https://www.k-state.edu/today/announcement.php?id=32505
 Congratulations to: 
2016Ben Haller and Sarah LammBen and Sarah received an A&S undergraduate research award through the College of Arts and Sciences.
 Department of GeologyDuring the Society of Eploration Geophysicists (SEG) annual meeting in Dallas this year (October 16-21, 2016), the K-State Geology SEG Chapter received Ridge Level status, in recognition of our geophysical activities and contributions in the area of exploration seismology. More details about this bump in our status are available on the department's home page.
 Adam LaneAdam received the prestigeous O.R. Grawe award from the Association of Missouri Geologists! The honor is awarded annually to outstanding upperclassmen in geology in the state of Missouri. We are thankful he decided to move west for graduate school! More details about his award are here: http://www.missourigeologists.org/Grawe.htm
 Jacob Clayton, Austin Noll and Kyle MarquartEach student received a generous scholarship from the Kansas Geological Foundation! Congrats!
 Ian Andree, Katie Garth, and Grant ZweifelhoferEach student received GSA Graduate Research Awards from Council of Geological Society of America, a highly competitive student research grant program!
 Colleen Gura and Michelle BerubeEach student received an award for their presentations in the K-State GRAD Forum! Outstanding!
 Austin Krehel, Morgan Richardson, Anthony Lueck, Aria Linares, Chance Reece, and Josh RennakerThe students, led by Drs. Raef and Totten, took third place at the 2016 AAPG Imperial Barrel competition! Well done!
 Anna MaynardAnna received a scholarship from the Geological Society of Nevada!
 Brooks RyanBrooks received a K-State Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative Inquiry award to support his research!
 Carmen Amos, Ian Andree, and Chance ReeceEach student received scholarships for graduate research from the Kansas Geological Foundation!
 Congratulations to: 
2015Carmen Amos, Ben Haller, Brooks RyanEach student was awarded K-State Arts & Sciences scholarships for undergraduate research.
 Austin KrehelAustin was selected to participate in the Student Education Program jointly offered by the Society of Exploration Geophysicists and ExxonMobil!
 Keithan MartinKeithan received a graduate student research grant from the Kansas Geological Foundation!
 Aria LinaresAria was awarded graduate student research grants from the Association for Women Geoscientists Osage Chapter and the Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts!
 Dr. Saugata DattaSaugata is a recipient of a Big 12 faculty fellowship to develop an experimental hydrogeology program with faculty at Texas A&M!
 Dr. Charles (Jack) OviattJack was elected to be a Geological Society of America Fellow! He was nominated for his many decades of exemplary published work on the stratigraphy, sedimentology, chronology, geomorphology, and paleolimnology of Lake Bonneville.
 Michael TummonsMichael is a recipient of a 2015 American Association of Petroleum Geologists Foundation Grants-in-Aid Program award! Funds for the grant were generously donated by the Barrett family. He will use the funding to support his geomicrobiology research.
 Anna Maynard, Michael TummonsEach student successfully applied for research funding through the Geological Society of America!
 Jasper HobbsJasper won a prize for best oral presentation at the Emerging Researchers National Conference in STEM! Nice work! 
 Dr. BruesekeMatt, along with collaborators at the University of Alaska Fairbanks and Bucknell University, were awarded a research grant from NSF to study the Wrangell Volcanic Belt in Alaska!
 Jennifer RoozeboomJennifer received the Bill and Norma Johnson Kansas Geological Foundation scholarship for 2015 Spring semester!
 Congratulations to: 
2014Michael VegaMichael received a Sigma Xi grant-in-aid of research!
 Michael VegaMichael received a K-State Arts & Sciences undergraduate research award for his project "Cooccurrence of As and Mn in the Drinking Water of Southeast Asia: A Geochemical Approach"!
 Caleb Dodd, Anna Downey, Jasper HobbsEach received a K-State Graduate Student Council travel award!
 Shovon Barua, Caleb Dodd, Anna Downey, Jasper HobbsEach received a K-State Arts & Sciences Graduate Student Research Travel Award!