Marston Muddy Boots Fund

To support field work in physical geography

2024 Request for Proposals

The Marston Muddy Boots Fund was established to support graduate students in Geography at Kansas State University who are pursuing theses or dissertations centered in physical/environmental geography. The scholarship honors the memory of R.B. Marston, a lifelong educator, who attributed his achievements to hard work, a positive outlook and effective mentoring.

The Marston Muddy Boots Fund ranking is based on a research proposal. The proposal should explore one of the following two themes: 1) separating human effects on the environment from changes that would have occurred without human interference; AND/OR 2) explaining the integration between geomorphology, hydrology and other biophysical processes.

Students should identify any other funding they have so far received and applied to, for this research. Proposals without support will be prioritized. Guidelines for preparing a proposal are attached and will be used by the Graduate Committee to rank applications. Recipients receive a cash award (the amount varies year-to-year), a framed certificate, and have their names engraved on a plaque that is displayed in the department.

Eligibility:

Graduate students in Geography at Kansas State University who are pursuing a master's thesis or doctoral dissertation that utilizes concepts and techniques in physical/environmental geography. The thesis/dissertation project must involve a significant level of well-conceived fieldwork.

Deadline: **5pm CST, April 15, 2024** (submit your proposal to the Graduate Program Director)

Proposal ranking and recommendation: KSU Geography Graduate Admissions Committee

Criteria for Judging Proposals: see guidelines below

Information from: Dr. Arnaud J Temme (arnaudtemme@ksu.edu)

Guidelines for a Marston Muddy Boots Scholarship Proposal.

These are guidelines only to help you, feel free to structure your proposal differently if appropriate, but use **maximum** 1500 words excluding references, **minimum** 1 image/map/figure)

I. Introduction

- Problem Statement (one concise sentence) & significance (who would potentially be interested in your study?) This section places your study in the context of bigger problems.
- Purpose (one sentence) and objectives (itemize the major research questions).
- Study Area (location and description; justify your choice of study area. Is it just convenient or especially well-suited to achieve purpose & objectives?)

II. Literature Review (sub-sections for each major research objective)

- Demonstrate that you are familiar with the literature on this topic
- Summarize what is already understood and what is still NOT well understood
- Do competing schools of thought exist?
- Has the topic been studied anywhere? If so, what was found? What remains to be understood?
- Has it been studied in your study area? If so, previous findings? If not, what might be different about your study area?

III. Methods (sub-sections for each major research objective)

- Justify why each procedure is needed and why that particular method is best suited
- Techniques of data acquisition: what, how many, where, how often...field, lab, remote sensing, map interpretation
- Techniques of data analysis: lab work, statistics, computer analyses, etc.

IV. Additional Material

- Expected form of the results (text, figures, maps, computer model, etc.)
- Where will findings be reported: thesis, journal publication, professional meeting
- Timetable (list of tasks for each objective and when that work will be undertaken)
- Budget (outline the expected costs and sources of funding)

Past recipients of the RBM Scholarship are listed below.

Harsiman Singh Sodhi (2023)

Clay Robertson (2022)

Nicholas McCarroll (2021)

Nicholas McCarroll (2020)

Michael Stumpff: 2019

Barrie Chileen: 2018

(no award made in 2017)

Emily Mellicant: 2016

Emily Mellicant and Nick Patch: 2015

Bryce Marston: 2014 Kyleen Kelly: 2013 Claire Ruffing: 2012 Katie Costigan: 2011

Kabita Ghimire and Brandon Weihs: 2010

(no award made in 2009)

Ben Meade, Kansas State University: 2008 Nick Graf, Kansas State University: 2007

(no award made in 2006)

Ranbir Kang, Oklahoma State University: 2005 Chris Adcock, Oklahoma State University: 2004 Dale Splinter, Oklahoma State University: 2003 Chris Neel, Oklahoma State University: 2002

Barbara Pickup and Jerrod Smith, Oklahoma State University: 2001

Randa Hope, Oklahoma State University: 2000

Robin Gray and Andy Massey, University of Wyoming: 1999

Jon Ferree, University of Wyoming: 1998 Doug Norsby, University of Wyoming: 1997 Sarah Marshall, University of Wyoming: 1996 Kevin Bayer, University of Wyoming: 1995

Kevin McNamara, University of Wyoming: 1994

Jay Newton, University of Wyoming: 1993 David Wick, University of Wyoming: 1992 Dave Clarendon, University of Wyoming: 1991

Jack Mills, University of Wyoming: 1990

Marjorie Varuska, University of Wyoming: 1989

Larry Dolan, University of Wyoming: 1988 Allen Miller, University of Wyoming: 1987 Marc Gillespie, University of Wyoming: 1986