JEDAII 2022-2023

Tuesday, April 18, 2023 3:00 – 4:30 pm

AGENDA

I. Land Grant Acknowledgement

As the first land-grant institution established under the 1862 Morrill Act, we acknowledge that the state of Kansas is historically home to many Native nations, including the <u>Kaw</u>, <u>Osage</u>, and <u>Pawnee</u>, among others. Furthermore, Kansas is the current home to four federally recognized Native nations: The <u>Prairie Band Potawatomie</u>, the <u>Kickapoo Tribe of Kansas</u>, the <u>lowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska</u>, and <u>Sac and Fox Nation of Missouri in Kansas and Nebraska</u>

II.Welcome

III.Meeting Minutes (Meekins)

IV. Business

a. Okanagan Charter Update/Brainstorming

i.Celebrate the passage FS vote of the O.C. proposal, ii.Start working on the campus plan of action for the O.C

b. Discuss/Finalize term lengths for our JEDAII committee members

i. Message from the amazing Candace LaBerge "As far as your term(s) — I want to clarify that the JEDAII committee service is separate from being a senator. For example, Renee Gates is not an elected senator, but is STILL a voting senator because she is the co-chair of PSA. That is written specifically into the FS constitution. Since JEDAII started this year as a permanent committee of senate, none of the terms should be one year. As we discussed earlier on (email dated 11/30/22), they really should be 2, 3, or 4 years in length so that there is continuity."

V.Announcements and Upcoming Events

VI.Adjournment

Future meeting dates:

Tuesday, May 16, 3-4:30 pm

JEDAII 2022-2023 Committee members and contacts

(15 members)

Graciela Berumen (Co-Chair) gracie3@ksu.edu

LaVerne Bitsie-Baldwin lbaldwin@ksu.edu

Hulya Dogan dogan@ksu.edu

Pamela Erickson perick@ksu.edu

Jermaine Glasper jglasper@ksu.edu

Teresa Hartman teresa2h@ksu.edu

Jessica Meekins (Secretary) jslack@vet.k-state.edu

Karina Moncayo-Michel karinamichel@ksu.edu

Joseph Pondillo josephpondillo@ksu.edu

Clarissa Steele crsteele@ksu.edu

Amber Vennum avennum@ksu.edu

Jennifer Wilson jrwilson@ksu.edu

Julie Yu julieyu@ksu.edu (Co-Chair)

Non-voting Liaisons:

Rana Johnson - VP for DEIB ranajohnson@ksu.edu

Bin Ning (Provost's Office) bning@ksu.edu