Kansas State University Faculty Senate Faculty Affairs Committee Minutes

September 4, 2012 3:30pm – Union 205

Present: Senators Melia Erin Fritch, Ernie Perez, Mindy Markham, Mark Linville, Stacey Warner, Kyle Nuss, Al Cochran, David Thompson, Jenny Bormann, Beth Davis, William H. Hsu, and Associate Provost Brian Niehoff

1. Welcome/Introductions

• Senator Fritch welcomed all and Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC) members introduced themselves.

2. Procedures

- Senator Hsu volunteered to serve as FAC secretary
- Senators unanimously voted to deem popcorn optional for future meetings (i.e., omit if expensive)

3. Overview of FAC subcommittees

- Subcommittee on faculty salaries: Sen. Perez liaison
- Subcommittee for university handbook and policy (UHP): former FAC co-chair & Sen. Hughey, working with President-Elect Julia Keen and Sen. Mo Hosni; Dr. Hughey to visit at a future meeting the one after next or later to give update
- FAC chair Fritch clarified functions of liaisons and process of reporting & coordination with rest of FAC, Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC)

4. Workgroup updates

- Workgroup on non-tenure track faculty/professional titles: chaired by Sen. Bob Clark and is currently working on a proposal
- Workgroup (2011-2012 academic year) on clinical faculty; clinical faculty proposal submitted and accepted by both Faculty Senate and Board of Regents
- Past work group on anti-bullying policy worked for a year and evolved into workgroup on standards for professional conduct (produced UH D.3)

5. New business

- Approval of UH revisions of D70 and D71
 - o Senator Fritch distributed hard copy for review (version with changes tracked and proposed new version
 - o MOTION to accept changes: Sen. Cochran (moved), Sen. Nuss (seconded)
 - o discussion: clarification of rationale for, and stipulations made by, changes

o VOTE to accept changes and move forward to FS: unanimous

6. Announcements

- FS special session on faculty salaries (May): high attendance at Alumni Center; FS Leadership Council (FSLC) review was distributed; Pres. Schulz has proposed task force of eight people (four nominated by administration and four by FSLC). At this point, FSLC has selected Julia Keen, Mo Hosni, Brian Spooner, and Jennifer Gehrt for confirmation and Administration will soon be selecting their four and officially giving the charge to the task force
- Sen. Bormann asked on behalf of the College of Agriculture caucus that benefits discussion be added to next agenda
- Sen. Hsu asked about status of task forces for K-State 2025; Associate Provost Niehoff indicated that previous FS task forces on K-State 2025 were temporary and that the President & Provost were going around to colleges to discuss planning and respond to questions
- 7. Meeting adjourned next meeting Tuesday, September 18, 2012