1. K-State home
  2. »Chemistry
  3. »People
  4. »Dr. Christine Aikens
  5. »Aikens Research Laboratory
  6. »Current Group Members

The Aikens Research Laboratory

Aikens Research Group
Kansas State University
Department of Chemistry
213 CBC Building
1212 Mid-Campus Drive North
Manhattan, KS 66506
Office: CBC 428

Phone Numbers
Office: 785-532-0954
Lab: 785-532-3189
Fax: 785-532-6666
Email: cmaikens@ksu.edu

Current Group Members

Graduate Students

K. L. Dimuthu M. Weerawardene became a member of the Aikens group in Fall 2012.  Her research focuses on understanding optical properties and decomposition mechanisms of phosphine-protected and thiolate-protected gold nanoparticles.  She has also examined the optical properties of polysilo-acenes.  In addition, Dimuthu studies water splitting on calcium-doped manganese oxide clusters.

Ravithree Senanayake joined the Aikens group in Fall 2013.  Her research focuses on understanding electron and nonadiabatic dynamics in a variety of bare and thiolate-stabilized gold and silver nanoparticles.

Natalia Karimova first started working with the Aikens group in Spring 2013 and officially joined in Spring 2014.  Her research includes studying optical and chiroptical properties of silver-DNA clusters, as well as magnetic circular dichroism of silver and gold nanoparticles.


Undergraduate Students

Hannah Devore became a member of the Aikens group in Fall 2015.  She is studying silver-thiolate interactions.