1. K-State home
  2. »Chemistry
  3. »People
  4. »Dr. Christer B. Aakeröy
  5. »Aakeroy Research Laboratory
  6. »Prof. Aakeröy

The Aakeröy Research Laboratory

Aakeröy Research Lab
Kansas State University
Department of Chemistry
328 CBC Building
1212 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

Phone Numbers
Office: 785-532-6096
Lab: 785-532-6061
Fax: 785-532-6666
Email: aakeroy@ksu.edu

Professor Christer B. Aakeröy

Christer Aakeroy


  • M.Sc. Uppsala University, Sweden, 1981-1985.
  • D. Phil. Chemistry, University of Sussex, UK, 1986-1990, (with Prof. K.R. Seddon).


  • University Distinguished Professor, 2012.
  • Visiting Professor, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India, 2011.
  • Professor, Kansas State University, 2006-
  • Associate Professor, Kansas State University, 2001-2005.
  • Visiting Prof., Universite Louis Pasteur, Institute Le Bel, Strasbourg, France, 2000, 2006.
  • Assistant Professor, Inorganic and Supramolecular Chemistry, Kansas State University, 1996-2000.
  • Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry, The Queen's University of Belfast, 1993-1996.
  • Research Associate, University of Minnesota, 1992, (with Prof. Etter).
  • Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Sussex, UK, 1990-1991 (with Prof. Seddon).


  • 2016    Higuchi Award (Olin Petefish Award in Basic Sciences)
  • 2016    British Crystallographic Association Prize Lecture
  • 2011    Presidential Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching.
  • 2006    Making a Difference Award from the “Women in Engineering and Science Program” at KSU.
  • 2003    Segebrecht Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award.

International Scientific Appointments

  • 2010  Associate Editor for CrystEngComm (Published by the Royal Society of Chemistry). 
  • 2002  Topics Editor for Crystal Growth and Design (Published by the American Chemical Society).
  • 2004  Member of the Editorial Board of Journal of of Chemical Crystallography (Published by   Springer).
  • 2009  Member of the Board of Trustees for the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre since 2009 (Chair since 2013).