1. K-State home
  2. »CECD
  3. »Professional Development
  4. »Overview

Center for Engagement and Community Development

Civic Engagement Fellows Program Overview

In collaboration with the Kettering Foundation and the Office of the Provost, K-State’s Center for Engagement and Community Development and KSU’s Institute for Civic Discourse and Democracy have designed a community engagement curriculum that explores deliberation as a central form of community-engagement.  This project works to build campus / community relationships by integrating the use of deliberation into community-engagement research and teaching.  

The goals of the Civic Engagement Fellows program are to: (1) build a community of practice around community-engaged scholarship, (2) strengthen faculty and staffs’ understanding of and commitment to deliberation practices within community-engaged scholarship, (3) create faculty cohorts who address significant campus and community challenges and (4) become campus agents of change.

Elements of Fellows Program:
  • Each Fellows cohort will be eight to ten faculty / staff
  • Fellows will participate in a year-long, peer learning experience
  • Fellows will explore and engage with core literature in the community-engaged scholarship field
  • Fellows will receive a $500 stipend
  • Fellows will mentor other campus faculty interested in community-engaged scholarship
  • Fellows will present work at annual KSU Engagement Symposium
  • Summer:  Faculty and staff are invited to join Civic Engagement Fellows cohort
  • September: Convene and charge Civic Engagement Fellows cohort
  • Fall semester: Fellows participate in four professional development sessions
    • Why and what is community-engaged scholarship
    • Deliberative process models for community engagement
    • “What counts; what matters”: Embedding community-engaged scholarship into university evaluation procedures
    • Integrating deliberative practices and community engagement into university work
    • Spring semester: Fellows present some work product at annual KSU Engagement Symposium 

Civic Engagement Fellows Cohorts

Civic Fellows, 2017-2018
  • Katie Kingery-Page (Landscape Architecture/Regional and Community Planning; Architecture, Planning and Design)
  • Huston Gibson (Landscape Architecture/Regional and Community Planning; Architecture, Planning and Design
  • Bruce Chladny (K-State Research and Extension-Wyandotte County)
  • Erin Yelland (Family Studies and Human Services, K-State Research and Extension; College of Human Ecology)
  • Brandon Irwin (Kinesiology; Human Ecology)
  • Kerry Priest (Staley School of Leadership Studies; Education)
  • Spencer Wood (Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work; Arts and Sciences)
  • Bonnie Lynn-Sherow (History; Arts and Sciences)
  • Laurie Baker (Communications and Ag Education; Agriculture)
Civic Fellows, 2018-2019
  • LaBarbara Wigfall (Landscape Architecture/Regional and Community Planning; Architecture, Planning and Design)
  • Laura Kanost (Modern Languages; Arts and Sciences)
  • Colene Lind (Communication Studies; Arts and Sciences)
  • Michael Tobler (Biology; Arts and Sciences)
  • Marlin Bates (K-State Research And Extension-Douglas County)
  • Julie Pentz (Music, Theatre, and Dance; Arts and Sciences)
  • Mithila Jugulam (Agronomy; Agriculture)
  • Linda Duke (Beach Museum of Art)
  • Aliah Mestrovich Seay (Student Services)
  • Greg Stephens (K-State Polytechnic, Salina)