1. K-State home
  2. »Ag Report
  3. »Alumni
  4. »Notes

Ag Report



Fred Fairchild ’63,’64, professor emeritus of grain science and industry, earned the Feed Manufacturing Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Feed Industry Association.

George Teagarden ’66, was named Outstanding Stockman at the May 7 Block and Bridle banquet.

Ken Odde ’78, ’82, ’83, professor and former animal sciences and industry department head, received the Jay B. Dillingham Award for Agricultural Leadership and Excellence from the Agricultural Business Council of Kansas City – the council’s highest award.


Karen Blakeslee ’86, ’97, extension associate, earned the 2018 Distinguish Service Award for her contributions and dedication to Kansas 4-H youth and the Department of 4-H Youth Development.

Kelly Getty ’88, ’99, associate professor, received the 2017-2018 Eustis-Farnam FFA Honorary Chapter Degree for providing the Food Science Workout for the Nebraska FFA food science team.

Mike Tokach ’88, university distinguished professor, completed a three-year term on the American Society of Animal Science Board.


Rebecca Miller-Regan ’90, ’92, ’96, has been named assistant professor of bakery science and management in the grain science and industry department. She previously was a research professor and director of the Wheat Quality Lab.

Jon Bergstrom ’96, ’11, received the Outstanding Early Career Agribusiness Award at the American Society of Animal Science Midwest meeting.

Brent Wiedeman ’97, ’05, president and CEO of Farmers and Merchants Bank of Colby, joined the K-State Alumni Association board of directors.

Joel DeRouchey ’99, ’01, professor and extension specialist, earned the American Society of Animal Science Extension Award.


Derek Falk ’02, received the John Deere Agriculture and Turf Division Presidents’ Award of Excellence for aligned high-performance teamwork for his work in the self-propelled forage harvester XB Program.

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue appointed Manpreet Singh ’02, University of Georgia poultry science professor, to a second two-year term on the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection.

Brad Kim ’04, assistant professor of animal sciences at Purdue University, earned the Outstanding Young Research Award at the American Society of Animal Science Midwest meeting.

Brandi Miller ’05,’13, is the president and CEO of Kansas Co-Op Council. She previously was associate director for the IGP Institute.

Shawn Thiele ’05 is interim associate director for the IGP Institute. He handles day-to-day administrative duties along with leading the flour milling and grain processing curriculum.

Emilie Fink ’06, has changed positions with the KSU Foundation from director of development for the College of Agriculture to lead the College of Veterinary Medicine’s development team.

Sheridan Wimmer ’08, earned the Best Member/Leader Newsletter Award at the Farm Bureau National Communications Conference.


Chris Mullins ’10, ’16, is the new 4-H Youth Development program coordinator with responsibilities for statewide volunteer screening processes, and event and program logistics related to military youth and shooting sports education.

Megan Torline ’13 received the Emerging Leaders Network Award at the 2018 Institute of Food Technologists Annual Meeting and Food Expo. She is an R&D food scientist for Blend Tech Inc.

Meg Drake ’13, editor, and Melissa Grimmel Schaake ’16, graphic designer, create Ranch House Journal magazine for Ranch House Designs.

Cassie Kniebel ’14, is the program director of the new CattleTrace pilot project, a public-private partnership that will develop and test a cattle disease traceability infrastructure in Kansas over the next two years.

Elizabeth Clark ’14, ’16, was chosen president-elect of the Institute of Food Technologists Student Association. She is working toward a Ph.D. at Virginia Tech University.

Roger Cochrane ’15, Ph.D. student in feed safety, was named a Midwest Young Scholar at the American Society of Animal Science Midwest Meeting.

Angela Bausch ’16 is a Kansas Farm Management Association extension agricultural economist in Chanute.

In memoriam

Trevor Rees ’49, Emporia, 93, died April 4, 2018. He is the father of Brian Rees, K-State Research and Extension – Lyon County agriculture and natural resources agent.

Herbert W. Bulk ’49, Topeka, 97, died July 16, 2018. He served as county agricultural agent in Leavenworth, Nemaha, and Shawnee counties from 1949 to 1972 when he was promoted to county extension director. He retired in 1984.

Calvin Drake ’55,’64, Manhattan, 84, died April 3, 2018. He worked with the Livestock and Meat Industry Council and taught in the Department of Animal Sciences and Industry (1979-2000). He continued to play basketball with graduate students until he was 81.

Chris Rea ’14, Lakebluff, Ilinois, 27, died March 15, 2018. He worked for Mariani Landscape. He participated in the National Collegiate Landscape Competition as a student and continued to support the event as an alumnus.

New K-State Research and Extension Agents

Brett Melton ’13, River Valley District livestock production agent

Madison Mackley ’18, Thomas County agriculture and natural resources agent

Elizabeth Rogers Kissick ’18, Grant County agriculture and natural resources agent

Elizabeth Espino ’18, Cowley County agriculture and natural resources agent

50 Kansans You Should Know: 2018

These College of Agriculture alumni were included in the eighth annual 50 Kansans You Should Know by Ingram’s

E.C. Brookover Jr. ’76, Brookover Feed Yards, Garden City

Ron Wilson ’78,’99, Huck Boyd Institute, Manhattan

Tracey Mann ’00, Kansas Lieutenant Governor, Salina

Chad Bontrager ’03, ’09, Yoder Meats, Yoder