1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Stats and Strengths
  4. »K-State achievements
  5. »2021 Faculty/Staff Achievements

About K-State

2021 Faculty/Staff Achievements

• A worthy career: Kansas Association of Broadcasts honors A.Q. Miller School's Steve Smethers with Distinguished Service, hall of fame induction.

• Fitting tribute: Regional continuing education association award renamed in honor of emeritus Dean Sue Maes.

• Outstanding paper: Biology's Alice Boyle earns Katma Award from ornithology associations as co-writer of innovative article.

• Excellence in engagement: Director of Institute for Civic Discourse and Democracy, Tim Shaffer, to serve on Engagement Scholarship Consortium.

• Elite selection: General Counsel Shari Crittendon selected for Kansas City Tomorrow leadership class.

• Among the best: Tim Musch named one of the top researchers in microcirculation.

• Winning concept: Agricultural engineering researchers earn Rain Bird Engineering Concept of the Year award.

• National recognition: Goodband, Tokach awarded by the American Society of Animal Science.

• Valued educator: Elizabeth Kiss receives Stewart M. Lee Consumer Education Award.

• Pass the baton: Alex Wimmer new president-elect of Kansas Bandmasters Association.

 The 'write' way: Gloria Freeland earns two honorable mentions in national writing contest.

• Top article: K-State researchers part of team earning superior paper honors.

• Virus beaters: Researchers Kim and Chang publish new study on Sars-CoV-2 treatment.

• Emerging leader: College of Engineering's Chassy Nichols selected for new Emerging Leaders Program of the National Association of College and University Business Officers.

• Leading the way: Kevin Sauer serving as president of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

• Fine design: Interior architecture & industrial design's Hernán Gregorio receives Silver A' Design Award, while Kutay Güler wins international 2021 Bronze A'Design Award, both for furniture designs.

• Making a difference: Two College of Education faculty members recognized for helping rural schools in Australia and Kansas.

• Engaged leader: Tim Shaffer named chair of Emerging Engagement Scholarship Workshop.

• New release: Engineering's Larry Erickson co-authors new book on phytotechnology.

• Select display: Art professor's work chosen for exhibition at Springfield Art Museum.

• Best book: Ag econ's Andrew Barkley receives Outstanding Revised Textbook in Social Sciences Award.

• Engineering excellence: Two civil engineering faculty members honored with regional awards from American Society of Civil Engineers.

• Just "plane" good: K-State Polytechnic's Steven Locklear named aviation maintenance educator of the year.

• Making waves: Jeridy Oetkin receives the National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association’s Making Waves Chapter Advisor Award.

• "Write" choice: BRI's Stephen Higgs co-authors of one of the Top 100 downloaded papers in Nature Scientific Reports.

• Art scholar: Architecture's Joseph Watson selected for Tyson Scholar of American Art program.

• Education leader: Global Campus' Katie Linder receives 2021 University and Professional Continuing Education Association Adelle F. Robertson Emerging Professional Continuing Educator award.

• Write way: K-State Polytechnic faculty, staff edit, author chapters in new edition of unmanned aircraft systems textbook.

• Technology excellence: K-State Libraries' Jason Coleman recognized with ETS Emerging Technology Section Achievement Award.

• Teaching excellence: Horticulture and natural resources' Cathie Lavis is National Collegiate Landscape Competition's 2021 Educator of the Year.

• Service leader: Housing and Dining Services' Mary Molt recognized as leader in onsite food service preparation by Food Management.

• Honored uniter: College of Agriculture's Zelia Wiley awarded for work in improving race relations in education.

• Top chef: Dining's Camille Korenek cooks up top recipe in Kansas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics competition.

• Latest K-State authors: Bimal Paul releases new book on natural disasters and mortality; Harlan Weaver book looks at interspecies intersectionality.

• Super singer: Voice professor Patricia Thompson member of ensemble nominated for 2021 Juno Award.

• A true gem: Geology's Behzad Ghanbarian receives the 2020 Soil Physics and Hydrology Early Career Award. 

• Tech leader: CIO Gary Pratt named to board of directors of Higher Education User Group.

• Leadership online: K-State's Jason Maseberg-Tomlinson on team recognized for leadership by online education alliance.

• New author: College of Education's Spencer Clark publishes book on history of civic education curriculum.

• Accomplished authors: English professor's book explores history, vast research of Alzheimer's disease, while dance professor publishes "DANCE Appreciation.

• Salute for excellence: Weed Science Society of America honors agronomy's Mithila Jugulam for outstanding research.

• Prestigious honor: Ag econ's Aleksan Shanoyan earns regional U.S. Department of Agriculture Excellence in College and University Teaching Awards for Food and Agricultural Science.

• Excelling at outreach: National water council honors Jonathan Aguilar with Mid-Career Award for Extension/Outreach/Engagement.

• Publication praise: Article by Frederick Burrack and Phillip Payne rates among journal's most read.

Tiffany Rogers-Randolph and Colby Moorberg honored with Innovative Teaching awards from the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities. 

• National role: Veterinary Medicine's Raelene Wouda named certification liaison for national veterinary internal medicine association.

• Taking on COVID: Broad-spectrum protease inhibitor developed with K-State's help on to preclinical trial for possible COVID-19 vaccine.

• Legendary faculty: Ted Cable, professor emeritus of park management and conservation receives Legend Award from national park and recreation academy.

• Top researcher: College of Veterinary Medicine's Juergen Richt receives Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Award.

• National director: Health and Human Sciences' Bronwyn Fees named director of APLU's Board on Human Sciences.

• A helping hand: K-State's Cheryl Grice earns 2020 Spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Award for her work in community, region.

• "Write" on top: K-State-led team receives award for outstanding research journal article of the year from national financial counseling and planning organization.

• Leadership potential: College of Health and Human Sciences, K-State Research and Extension team selected for national leadership academy.

• On the front lines: Work by Lafene Health Center Medical Director Kyle Goerl contributes to CDC's revised quarantine guidelines for COVID-19.

• Business boosters: Technology Development Institute using CARES Act funding to help support Kansas manufacturers cope with pandemic.

• Making a difference: College of Education's Socorro Herrera co-author of new book for teaching culturally diverse learners.

• Research salute: College of Veterinary Medicine's Juergen Richt receives Excellence in Research Award from the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges.