1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Stats and Strengths
  4. »K-State achievements
  5. »2020 Faculty/Staff Achievements

About K-State

2020 Faculty/Staff Achievements


• Rising star: InvestmentNews tabs Martin Seay for its 40 Under 40 list.

• A CAREER first: Jeff Comer is first College of Veterinary Medicine faculty member to receive NSF CAREER award.

• A good fit: Kinesiology's Katie Heinrich president-elect of American Academy of Health Behavior.

• Feeding the future: Vara Prasad to serve on new international commission on sustainable agricultural intensification.

• Global service: Hospitality management's Jichul Jang new treasurer of
International Council on Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education.

• Where excellence grows: National agricultural education group recognizes K-State agriculture faculty, students with awards.

• Cyber success: NSF renews K-State's CyberCorps program led by Eugene Vasserman.

• Community booster: KSRE's Trudy Rice presented national community vitality service award.

• Ensuring success: Dan Kurtz to elected to serve with Association of Baccalaureate Program Directors.

• Voice of a champion: Voice professor Bryan Pinkall wins 2020 American Prize in Vocal Performance.

• True patriot: K-State President Richard Myers recognized by Daughters of American Revolution with Distinguished Citizen Medal.

• National landing spot: Polytechnic's Lindsey Dreiling tabbed for new federal aviation advisory board.

• Outreach excellence: Vet Med's Kate KuKanich honored by Student American Veterinary Medical Association for community outreach.

• Chief position: K-State Police Director Ronnie Grice serving on COVID-19 Recovery Task Force.

• Super scientist: Plant pathology's Barbara Valent elected to elite National Academy of Sciences.

• Up-and-coming: Chemical engineer Ryan Hansen is K-State's latest NSF CAREER award winner.

• Setting the standards: Hospitality management professor to serve on advisory council of national hotel and lodging education institute.

• Designer of distinction: APDesign's Otto Chanyakorn named recipient of prestigious Gabriel Prize.

• Research rewarded: Biology's Lydia Zeglin is K-State's newest NSF CAREER award recipient.

• International leader: Camilla Roberts selected president of International Center for Academic Integrity.

• Excellence honored: National mammologist society names graduate student research award in honor of biology professors Don and Glennis Kaufman.

• Top writer: JMC's Gloria Freeland earns two Kansas Professional Communicators awards.

• Hospitable leader: Hospitality management's Kevin Roberts to serve on Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration.

• Rural schools champion: College of Education's Jerry Johnson to serve on APLU's Rural Student Success Advisory Committee.

• Making education excellent: New Coffman chair Julia Keen co-authors new textbook on building sustainable commercial buildings.

• Next-level leader: Bronwyn Fees recognized for leadership, named an ACE fellow.

• Top teacher: Special education professor named "
unsung hero."

• The 'write' way: Senior instructor earns Top Author Award from Top Hat.

• Title of distinction:
Chuck Rice named national associate of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

• Up-and-comer:
Engineering professor receives NSF CAREER award for 3D metal-graphene composites research.

• Significant collaboration:
K-State physicists contribute to report on blueprint for ultimate neutrino detector.

• Illuminating excellence: College of Engineering's Fred Hasler honored by professional lighting society.

• Fantastic physicist: Physics' Tim Bolton named project director of major federal neutrino experiment at Fermilab.

• Author excellence: K-State Libraries' Michael Haddock honored by Midwest chapter of international aboriculture society for his latest book.

• Preserving history: Chapman Center for Rural Studies' Lynn-Sherow co-authors book about ranching life in the Flint Hills.

• Starring role: Assistant professor of theatre appears in History Channel's "Project Blue Book."

• Top editor: Financial Planning Association appoints K-State's Stuart Heckman editor of Journal of Financial Planning.

• Federal recognition: Civil engineering professor part of award-winning research team cited by U.S. Department of Defense program.

• Top planner: Personal financial planning program chair Martin Seay new president of Financial Planning Association.