About Us

The Kansas State University Student Chapter of The Wildlife Society is about providing students interested in biological sciences, whether it is wildlife, fisheries, herpetology, entemology, botany, conservation, or management, with the skills to be successful. As a part of The Wildlife Society, you can expect to:

Meet and network with professionals

Get HANDS-ON EXPERIENCE

Build your resume

Discover job opportunites

Meet others who also have a passion for the outdoors



Join us on  Facebook!
.

Up and coming...

Events

FLOAT TRIP!!!! Sep 16th-17th, 2017
National The Wildlife Society Conference: Sep 23rd-27th, 2017
Wildlife/Natural Resources Career Meet Up: Nov. 9th, 2017
Winter Expo & Activities Carnival: Jan 18th, 2018
STEM Family Fun Night: Feb 8th, 2018
CMPS NETWS Conference: Feb 28th - March 2nd, 2018
Earth Day: Apr 21st, 2018
BONFIRES!!!! *Dates TBA*

Fundraisers
***Exact Dates TBA***

Workshops
Field Skills Workshop: Nov. 4th, 2017
Hunter Safety: ***Date TBA***
Scientific Literature Workshop: Oct. 10th, 2017



.
Club Meetings
Every other Tuesday
6:00-7:00 PM
Ackert 231


Jan 23rd
First Meeting of the Spring Semester:
Introduction to The Wildlife Society. Graduate students present their research & possible job opportunities

Feb 6th
Guest Speaker: Charlie Lee - K-State Research & Extension Wildlife Specialist
 
Feb 20th
Guest Speakers: Alan Tajchman & Kyleen Kelly - National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)

  March 6th
Guest Speaker: TBA

March 27th
Guest Speaker: TBA

Apr 10th
Guest Speaker: TBA

Apr 24th
Guest Speaker: TBA



 Yearly dues are $10.00. This cost goes towards guest speakers and conferences or activities that the Chapter attends or hosts.
Officers

Feel free to contact any of us, any time with questions, suggestions, and anything else!


President
Caroline Skidmore
carolineskidmore@ksu.edu

V-President of Wildlife
Rachel McNemee
remcnemee@ksu.edu

V-President of Fisheries
Blair Pfeifer
blair45@ksu.edu

Secretary
Samantha Volkman
sjvolkman@ksu.edu

Treasurer
Lia Welti
lwelti@ksu.edu

Recruitment
Darrien Savage
dsavage@ksu.edu



Last Updated 18 January, 2018

Advisors


Faculty
Dr. David Haukos
Associate Professor
Office: 205 Leasure Hall
(785) 532-0670
dhaukos@ksu.edu



Graduate 
Monica Shaffer
Office: 106 Bushnell Hall
(316) 204-6431
        mshaffer@ksu.edu