1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »Web Services
  4. »CMS
  5. »Help Documentation
  6. »Checking Files In and Out

Web Services

Checking files in and out

The checked out/in icon, represented by a light bulb, reflects the state of a page or file. A user can manually check out the file by clicking the light bulb or the file is automatically checked out by clicking an editable region button. When a page or file is checked out to a user, no other user can enter the page and make changes until the file has been checked back in. Certain file options are only available when the file is checked out.

It is important to note a file stays checked out until the user:

  • Publishes the page.
  • Manually checks the page back in by clicking the yellow light bulb.
  • Sends the page to another user for review.

The file status indicators help make clear why a page is not available for editing as well as who has checked out a page.

Checking files out

  1. Under the Content tab, click Pages.

  2. Locate the file you want to edit.

  3. Click the light bulb next to the page to check it out.

    Image showing location of the lightbulb icon used to check a file out.

    Notes:

    • A lit light bulb next to a page means the page is already checked out to you and can't be edited by anyone else. 
      Image of the lightbulb icon that signifies a file is checked out to you.
    • A lock next to a page means the page is checked out to someone and can't be edited by anyone else. 
      Image of the lock icon that signifies a file is checked out to someone else.

Checking files in

  1. Under the Content tab, click Pages.

  2. Locate the page you want to check in.

  3. Click the light bulb next to the page to check it in.

    Image of the lightbulb icon when a page is checked out to you.

Behaviors of Checked Out files

If a page is checked out by another user, the current user may still perform the following actions; even though the page is locked:

  • Set or edit Reminders
  • Preview
  • View the log
  • Copy