Vice President for Student Life

Kansas State University

122 Anderson Hall

Manhattan, KS 66506-0102


800-432-8270 toll free


785-532-6108 fax


Dean of Student Life Outstanding Graduating Senior Awards

The Dean of Student Life Outstanding Graduating Senior Award is presented to 12-13 graduating seniors who are nominated by staff in the Division of Student Life. The nominations are open in early spring semester. The students must have excelled in two or more areas of student life. Award winners are selected by a committee of student life staff members who make recommendations to Dr. Bosco, who makes the final selections. The award has been in place since 1999. The award winners receive a plaque with their pictures and an engraving. The professionally-done pictures are taken at the students' favorite campus locations, giving them a lasting memory of their K-State days. There is a reception for the awards, which is attended by family, friends, supporters, staff, and faculty of each student.

2013 Recipients

Bronson Blackwell, Brandon Brunner, Martin Cram, Kaitlyn Dechant, Michelle Foster, Cole Grieves, Courtney Hallenbeck, Rachel Hoppins, Rachel King, Angela Muhwezi, Eric Swenson, Emilee Taylor, Phuoc Van Bui, Macy Warburton, Dylan Works

Previous Recipients

Putting Students First Award

The Putting Students First Award is presented to one full-time teaching faculty member and one full-time staff member who work in the Division of Student Life (all of the areas that report to Dr. Bosco). The nominations are open in the early spring semester. Any student, faculty or staff member may nominate someone; however, a student must either be be the nominator or write a letter of support for the nomination. Award winners are selected by an award committee made up of staff members in the Division of Student Life serving on the Staff Development Committee. The award has been in place for at least six years. The award winners receive a plaque at a reception attended by department members, faculty, friends, and family of all recipients and nominees. Award winners also receive a monetary award. Other nominees receive a certificate. View more photos of the Putting Students First Award Recipients in the photo gallery.

Director Carla Jones with Candi Hironaka, Senior Associate Director of the School of Leadership Studies

2013 Recipients

Faculty: Kent Kerby, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Affairs, Division of Biology

Staff: Kiley Moody, Coordinator, New Student Services

Previous Recipients