1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State Kudos

Division of Communications and Marketing

K-State Kudos


DesignIntelligence magazine ranked all three of the College of Architecture, Planning and Design's eligible programs among the top 10 graduate programs in the nation, according to "America' s Best Architecture & Design Schools 2012" issue. The landscape architecture program is No. 3 in the country; the architecture program is No. 5; interior architecture and product design ranks as the seventh best program in the U.S.

The personal financial planning program was named one of the best in the nation by Financial Planning, an e-newsletter. The university program is among those listed in the article, "Financial planning education 101: 10 Standout Schools." Kansas State University is one of only three institutions on the list offering four or more Certified Financial Planning Board-registered programs.

The All-University Campaign hit a record-breaking 39 percent participation rate. In all, 1,922 faculty and staff made donations this year.


The Indian Institute of Public Administration has recognized Krishna Tummala, professor of political science, with its highest honor: the Paul H. Appleby Award for distinguished service to public administration. The lifetime achievement award is given based on contributions to the institute and the field of public administration.

Wayne Goins, professor of jazz, received the African American Alumni Achievement Award from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga for outstanding achievements in the fine arts.

Two K-State Salina faculty members have helped write and edit one of the first collegiate-level textbooks on unmanned aircraft systems. "Introduction to Unmanned Aircraft Systems" was written by K-State's Kurt Barnhart, professor and head of the department of aviation and executive director of the university's Applied Aviation Research Center, and Eric Shappee, associate professor of aviation, with faculty members from New Mexico State University.

Bimal Paul, professor of geography, has written one of the first textbooks to help students understand the effects of environmental disasters. "Environmental Hazards and Disasters: Contexts, Perspectives and Management" provides insight on the manifested threat to humans and their welfare as a result of natural disasters.

Barry Flinchbaugh, professor of agricultural economics, and Frank Tracz, director of bands and professor of music, are the inaugural recipients of the Wildcat Pride Awards, which recognize faculty or staff who have been instrumental in advancing the mission of the K-State Alumni Association through support of its programs.

Robert Shoop, professor of educational administration, has released his first novel, "Compulsion," which draws on his long and distinguished career in sexual harassment prevention. The book is a suspense thriller about the search for a middle school teacher who's a serial child molester and possible murderer.


Kansas State University was the big winner at the 29th annual Cargill Meat Solutions High Plains Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest. Kansas State took top honors in the Senior Division. K-State's Aaron Tapian was the high overall individual in the division.

Three members of the university's forensics team -- Jenna Suprenant, Brock Ingmire and Chandler Johnson -- launched the nation's first database for exceptional collegiate forensics speeches. The trio's Loudspeaker is a nonprofit organization aimed at provoking discussions of important social issues. It also offers feature a weekly podcast examining a particular forensics performance and more.

A team of four Kansas State University students won the International Leadership Association's Case Study Competition, a part of the association's annual conference, Oct. 25-29, in London. For the competition, the team researched and presented a leadership solution to the Ghana urban water problem. K-State also won the competition in 2006.

Two graduate students conducting research for a Kansas EPSCoR project won the top prizes in the research poster contest at the 22nd National Science Foundation EPSCoR Conference in Couer d'Alene, Idaho. Andrew McGowan, a doctoral student in agronomy, won the grand prize in the water/environment category for his poster "Nitrous Oxide Emissions in Different Biofuel Cropping Systems." Ayomi Perera, a doctoral student in organic chemistry won the grand prize in the energy category for her poster "Design of a Mycrobacterial Porin Based Dye Sensitized Solar Cell." 

October 2011 Kudos

September 2011 Kudos

August 2011 Kudos

July 2011 Kudos

June 2011 Kudos

May 2011 Kudos

April 2011 Kudos

March 2011 Kudos

February 2011 Kudos

January 2011 Kudos

December 2010 Kudos