Skip to the content

Kansas State University

K-State news

Latest stories

Stay connected

Twitter status

    Follow K-State news

    K-State Kudos


    AccessUS, a 2+2 program created for nontraditional Latino and Latina students wanting to teach in southwest Kansas, received the 2010 Outstanding Service to Underserved Populations Award from the Association for Continuing Higher Education. The program has helped 16 K-State students earn their bachelor's degrees in elementary education with an English as a second language endorsement.


    Jacque Gibbons, social work, was named the 2010 Kansas Social Worker of the Year by the Kansas Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers.

    Chuck Rice, agronomy, attended and helped present a workshop at the 2010 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Cancun, Mexico.

    Dunja Peric, computer engineering, received an Eminent Scholars Visiting Grant from the University of New South Wales, Australia, to conduct collaborative research on strain localization and instabilities in unsaturated soils at the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering there.

    Michael Chilton, management, is among 10 recipients nationwide of a $25,000 ConocoPhillips faculty sponsorship award. The award is supporting Chilton's efforts to expand his existing curriculum and incorporate new, advanced technologies to enhance the management information systems program at K-State.

    Kimetris Baltrip, journalism and mass communications, was among 15 professors named a Business Journalism Professors Seminar Fellow by the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism. She will attend the Business Journalism Professors Seminar, Jan. 4-7, in Phoenix, Ariz.

    New books have been published by David Stone, history, editor of "The Soviet Union at War 1941-1945"; Carol Kellett, human ecology, "Legacy of Leadership," about the College of Human Ecology; Sally Bailey, drama therapy, "Barrier-Free Theatre"; and the College of Veterinary Medicine, Beef Cattle Institute and Frontier program, "150 Years of Kansas Beef."


    Cosette Armstrong, doctoral student in apparel, textiles and interior design, received the International Textile and Apparel Association's Lois Dickey Fellowship for Doctoral Students, primarily awarded to doctoral students conducting research with evident potential for future contributions to the discipline.

    Three students -- Nathen Lippert, Juan Carlos Mendoza and Sophia Ford -- received the spring 2011 Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship, which provides up to $5,000 for undergraduate students to study abroad.

    Cole Thompson, master's student in horticulture, won first place in the graduate student oral presentations in turfgrass science at the International Crop Science Society of American meeting.

    A poster by Gina Besenyi, master's student in public health, was selected as the top student entry at the 2010 Kansas Public Health Association fall conference.

    Kira Shonkwiler Arnold, master's graduate in agronomy, won the Governor's Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Poster at the Water and the Future of Kansas Conference.

    The Animal Welfare Judging Team finished third in the graduate division at the 2010 Animal Welfare Judging Contest, East Lansing, Mich. It was the first time K-State fielded a team at the annual competition.

    A team of K-State computer science students took third place in the Supercomputing 10 Student Programming Competition in New Orleans. Teams had to find solutions to a set a problems using programming and systems knowledge.


    The Advanced Manufacturing Institute has been accepted into the National Instruments Alliance Partner Program. The membership will allow AMI to expand its design and product verification services, and help simplify product development, increase productivity and reduce time to market for its customers.

    December 2010 Kudos