Faculty

These faculty have interests in military history, international relations, and national security, and regularly teach in those fields, cover our security studies courses, or advise students in the Security Studies program.

Sam Bell

Sam Bell, Political Science

Email: sbell3@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Binghamton, 2009
Research and teaching interests: world politics, transparency.


Sabri CiftciSabri Ciftci, Political Science

Email: ciftci@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Florida State, 2005
Research and teaching interests: political behavior, public opinion, democratic institutions, and Middle Eastern Politics.

 
David Graff

David Graff, History

Email: dgraff@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Princeton, 1995
Research and teaching interests: East Asian military history, particularly ancient and medieval China; Chinese military thought.

 
Dale Herspring

Dale Herspring, Political Science

Email: falka@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Southern California, 1972
Research and teaching interests: Russian politics, comparative civil-military relations.

 
Derek Hoff

Derek Hoff, History

Email: dhoff@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Virginia, 2006
Research and teaching interests: American political development, economic history; demography.


Jesse JohnsonJesse Johnson, Political Science

Email: jcjohnson@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Rice, 2012
Research and teaching interests: international security, international institutions, and conflict processes.

 
fds

Ranin Kazemi, History

Email: rkazemi@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Yale, 2012
Research and teaching interests:modern Middle East and North Africa.

 
Emizet Kisangani

Emizet Kisangani, Political Science

Email: emizetk@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Iowa, 1994
Research and teaching interests: comparative politics, civil wars, African politics.

 
Michael Krysko

Michael Krysko, History

Email: mkrysko@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Stony Brook University, 2001
Research and teaching interests: US foreign relations, particularly with East Asia; history of technology; radio.

 
Laszlo Kulcsar

Laszlo Kulcsar, Sociology

Email: kulcsar@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Cornell, 2005
Research and teaching interests: Migration, urbanization, post-socialism.

 
Andrew Lon

Andrew Long, Political Science

Email: aglong@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Florida State, 2004
Research and teaching interests: international conflict, international political economy, alliances and trade.

 

Carla Martinez MachainCarla Martinez Machain, Political Science

Email: carlamm@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Rice, 2012 
Research and teaching interests: explaining conflict outcomes and duration.

 
Heather McCrea

Heather McCrea, History

Email: hmccrea@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Stony Brook, 2002
Research and teaching interests: Latin America, public health and disease, environmental history.

 
Donald Mrozek

Donald Mrozek, History

Email: mrozek@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Rutgers University, 1972
Research and teaching interests: Unconventional and non-conventional warfare in American history; air power; American culture.

 
Kristin Mulready-Stone

Kristin Mulready-Stone, History

Email: mulready@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Yale, 2009
Research and teaching interests: China since 1600; reform in contemporary China; imperialism.

 
Mark Parillo

Mark Parillo, History

Email: parillo@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Ohio State, 1987
Research and teaching interests: US military history, naval history; logistics.

 
Jeff Pickering

Jeff Pickering, Political Science

Email: jjp@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Indiana, 1995
Research and teaching interests: international relations, foreign military interventions.

 
Chuck Sanders

Charles Sanders, History

Email: chassan@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Kansas State, 2001
Research and teaching interests: US Civil War, antebellum United States.

 
Nadia Shapkina

Nadia Shapkina, Sociology

Email: shapkina@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Georgia State, 2008
Research and teaching interests: gender, human trafficking, post-socialism.

 
Craig Stapley

Craig Stapley, Political Science

Email: cjstap@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Oklahoma, 2004
Research and teaching interests: terrorism, international organizations, small arms trafficking.

 
David Stone

David R. Stone, History

Email: stone@k-state.edu
Ph.D, Yale, 1997
Research and teaching interests: Russian / Soviet military and diplomatic history; the Cold War; security issues in South Asia.