sigma delta pi
History Events Members Links National Website Return to K-state Home SDP Home

Sigma Delta Pi was established in 1919 as the "Sociedad del Prado" at the University of California, Berkeley.

In 1921, with Mr. Heriberto M. Stein as president of Alpha Chapter, the young society began to be extended to other institutions of higher learning.

In 1925, when there were five chapters, and under the presidency of Mr. Leavitt O. Wright and the support of the well-known Hispanists Elijah C. Hills, S. Griswold Morley and Rudolph Schevill, it became a national organization whose motto is "Spanías Didajé Proágomen" (Prosigamos bajo la inspiracion de Espana/We Carry on Under the Inspiration of Spain).

Since then there has been a continuous and energetic campaign to establish chapters in English-speaking Universities and colleges where advanced Hispanic studies are offered and supported by the administrations.
Epsilon Xi Chapter