1. K-State home
  2. »DSP Homepage
  3. »14th Annual Research Symposium

Developing Scholars

14th Annual Research Poster Symposium- April 13, 2014


2014 Abstract Booklet 


Undergrad Research Student   Bossmann

The University Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Student in Research goes to Senior in Philosophy Andrew Rogers (pictured with Vice Provost Steven Dandaneau). This award is given to one student of sophomore standing or above each year.

The University Distinguished Faculty Award  for the Mentoring of Undergraduate Students in Research goes to Dr. Stefan Bossmann (Chemistry). This award is given to one outstanding faculty member each year.



Academic Excellence: The following students were recognized for their academic excellence for earning a 4.0 GPA in 2013 (L to R):Nallely Barron-Garcia, Jenny Barriga, Eduardo Acosta, Jennifer Delzeit, Alaina Littlejohn, Jonathan Bernard, Pamela Maynez, Raquel Ortega, Larry Rodriguez, Navanté Peacock, Daijah Porchia, Thuy Cao, Sofia Sabates, Cipriana Sapien, Sergio Ortiz, Armando Marquez, William Duren, Marcus Dominguez, Geordy Williams. Not pictured: Rebecca Renteria, Breyana Ramsey, and Stephanie Skinner. 



Frank Cortez Memorial Award was presented to Yubisela Toledo. This award goes to a student who passionately pursues excellence in many different interests from the arts to the sciences. 



Jazmin  Natira

Bridges To The Future Excellence Awards goes to Jazmin Zeledon and Natira Staats. These awards are for the NIH Bridges To The Future students who have most distinguished themselves through research. 



Faculty Awards of Appreciation: (L to R): Dr. Bradley Olson (Biology), Dr. Neal Dittmer (Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics), Dr. Lawrence Davis (Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics), Dr. Alisa Garni (Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work). Not pictured: Dr. N. Sanjay Rebello (Physics). 




Promise awards goes to Raquel Ortega and Cipriana Sapien. These awards are given to a new Scholar who shows great promise in the first year of research.



Jenny B

The Eclipse Award goes to Jenny Barriga, second year Scholar in Chemistry. This is an award that acknowledges exceptional work by a young researcher. 




James R. Coffman Award of Excellence is based on the following traits: 

1) A Developing Scholar is not afraid of challenges and is expected to apply him or herself on research while maintaining good grades. 2) A Scholar is dependable, hard-working and responsible. A Scholar understands the commitment and the opportunity and values the experience provided. 3) A Scholar is a person of integrity. 4) A Scholar is intellectually inquisitive and excellence shows in her or his work.

(From L to R) Dr. James R. Coffman,  First-Year Honorable Mention: Maira Cotton-Caballero; Third-Year Honorable Mention: Ismael Hernandez; Second-Year Honorable Mention: Alejandro Marquez; First-Year Award Winner: Thuy Cao; Second-Year Award Winner: Marcus Dominguez; Third-Year Award Winner: William Duren. 



The Rita G. Perez Exemplary Scholar Award goes to Nallely Barron-Garcia, senior Scholar in Microbiology. The Rita G. Perez Exemplary Scholar Award goes to a third-year Scholar who exemplifies intelligence, curiosity, integrity, generosity, empathy, determination, and perseverance through adversity.  

 MORE COMING SOON!!! Please check back!