1. K-State home
  2. »DSP Homepage
  3. »17th Annual DSP Research Poster Symposium

Developing Scholars

17th Annual Research Poster Symposium

Thank you to everyone who made our 17th annual DSP Symposium a success! Enjoy some pictures from the event below.

2017 Abstract Booklet (pdf)


The Frank Cortez Memorial Award was presented to Maria Fernanda De La Torre (Mentor: Dr. William Hsu, Computer Science). This award goes to a student who passionately pursues excellence in many different interests from the arts to the sciences. 


The Diligence in Research Award was presented to Keiteyana Parks (Mentor: Dr. Don Saucier, Psychological Sciences) and Sahiba Grover
(Mentor: Dr. Peying Fong, Anatomy and Physiology). This award goes to a student who has achieved academically and in research in spite of obstacles.















Pay It Forward Awards were presented to Carolina Bueno, Jaasiel Duarte, Elshaddai Abamegal, and Carlos Aguirre. These awards are funded by DSP alumni who wish to give back to the program and are awarded to current students whose experience reflects the donor's in some way. Sponsors of the Pay It Forward awards are Jose Valles and Areli Valles, of Kearney, Nebraska; Clemente Jaquez and Dr. Olga Martinez Jaquez, of Dallas, Jorge Eduardo Mendoza, of Garden City, and Andy and Aly Kowal, of St. Louis.



Promise awards go to Alexcis Barnes (Mentor: Dr. Larry Davis, Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics), Tori Mitchell (Mentor: Dr. Laurie Curtis, Cirriculum and Instruction), Alex Sheikh (Mentor: Dr. Punit Prakash, Electrical and Computer Engineering), and Monica Diaz (Mentor: Dr. Thomas Hallaq, AQ Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications. These awards are given to a new Scholar who shows great promise in the first year of research.


James R. Coffman Award of Excellence is based on the following traits: 

1) A Developing Scholar is not afraid of challenges and is expected to apply him or herself on research while maintaining good grades. 2) A Scholar is dependable, hard-working and responsible. A Scholar understands the commitment and the opportunity and values the experience provided. 3) A Scholar is a person of integrity. 4) A Scholar is intellectually inquisitive and excellence shows in her or his work.

Third-Year Winners: Melissa Riley (Mentor: Dr. Barry Bradford) and Jose Covarrubias (Mentor: Dr. Stefan Bossmann); Second-Year Winner: Faith Rahman (Mentor: Dr. Stefan Bossmann); Second-Year Honorable Mention: Mya Masterson (Mentor: Dr. Sally Davis); First-Year Winner: Olivet Martinez (Mentor: Dr. Sara Rozenkranz); First-Year Honorable Mention: Marlene Campos (Mentor: Dr. Zhilong Yang)


The Eyes on the Prize Award went to Rafael Garcia (Mentor: Dr. Gloria Freeland, AQ Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications) for steadfastly keeping his focus on his future and quietly doing what needs to be done to take his future by storm.


The Rita G. Perez Exemplary Scholar Award goes to Benjamin Archibeque (Mentor: Dr. Eleanor Sayre, Physics), third year Scholar in Physics. The Rita G. Perez Exemplary Scholar Award goes to a third-year Scholar who exemplifies intelligence, curiosity, integrity, generosity, empathy, determination, and perseverance through adversity.  The Eclipse Award goes to Kathlyn Gomendoza (Mentor: Dr. Lorena Passarelli, Biology), second year Scholar in Biology. This is an award that acknowledges exceptional work by a young researcher.