Graduate Students

Beach, Sarah ~ srhbeach@ksu.edu

  • Education: ABD, Sociology, Kansas State University, Ph.D. expected 2013; M.A., Sociology, Colorado State University, 2007; B.S., Environmental Science, emphasis: Environmental Management, Northern Arizona University, 1998.
  • Research Interests and Current Research: Environmental sociology, the sociology of agriculture and food, and political sociology. Her dissertation examines socio-economic and environmental aspects of agriculture, including urban agriculture and community. 

Briggs, Jeremy ~ jsbriggs@ksu.edu

Button, Andrea ~ aljones@ksu.edu

  • Education: Ph.D. Student, Sociology, Kansas State University, current; M.A., Sociology, Kansas State University, 2007; B.A., Sociology, Stephen F. Austin State University, 2003.
  • Research Interest and Current Research: Current research focuses on the connection between animal abuse and domestic violence, highlighting movement participation for changing protection policies.

Button, Ryan ~ button@ksu.edu

  • Education: M.A., Sociology, Kansas State University, December 2007; B.A., Sociology, Stephen F. Austin State University, May 2004.
  • Research Interest and Current Research: Factors Affecting the Concentration of Financial Services, The Patriot Guard's use of Online Structure to Promote Active World Engagement, Use of Visual Media as a Medium in the Classroom Experience

Carnes, Rebekah ~ bcarnes@ksu.edu

Chernoff, William ~ chernoff@ksu.edu

Cohn, Saul ~ scohn@ksu.edu

Collins, Anna ~ anniec2@ksu.edu

Correa, Gustavo ~ gcorrea@ksu.edu

Dance, Matt ~ mpdance@ksu.edu

Davlyatova, Nodira ~ ndavlyatova@ksu.edu

de Campos, Paula Ana ~ alpaula@ksu.edu

  • Education: M.S., Rural Sociology, Auburn University, July 2009; B.S., Forest Engineer, University of Sao Paulo, July 2003.
  • Research Interests: Sociology of the natural resources, sociology of agriculture and food, environmental sociology, rural sociology, rural and international development, political ecology, social movements.

Dietrich, John ~ edrich3@ksu.edu

Donley, Sarah ~ sdonley@ksu.edu

Esamwata, Joab ~ jesamwa@ksu.edu

  • Education:Master of Develpment Administration Studies, Madurai Kamaraj University; Bachelor of Development Administartion Studies, Gandhigram Rural University; Postgraduate Diploma in Journalism and Mass Communication, Madurai Kamaraj University, all in India.
  • Research Interest: International Development- Donor Aid, Monitoring and Evaluation of Programs, Impact Programs, Impact Assessment, Management of Social Welfare Programs, University- Industry Linkages and Partnerships.

Fisher, Tory ~ ksufish@ksu.edu

Force, Victor ~ rabbif@ksu.edu

Green, Edward ~ elwgreen@ksu.edu

Grondin, Jessie ~ jkgrondi@ksu.edu

Hanson, Zach ~ zhanson1@ksu.edu

Hardy, Joel ~ omoc@ksu.edu

Higgs, Rebecca ~ rhiggs@ksu.edu

Horstmeier, Michelle ~ mchorst@ksu.edu

Huerta, Sandra ~ syh510@ksu.edu

  • Bio: Born and raised in the Bay Area, Califas, my focus is on social movements and insectionality (race, class, gender). My thesis topic is on the Chicano movement in California and where is M.E.Ch.A now with the influence of Chicanisma (Chicana feminism), queer theory, and ethnicity (central and south americans).

Iaroi, Albert ~ jaray@ksu.edu

  • Education: Ph.D. (ABD) Kansas State University, Sociology, 2007 - PresentAreas: Rural and International Development; Graduate Certificate Kansas State University, 2010Agricultural Resources and Environment Management (AREM); M.A. Babes-Bolyai University, 2000Easter and Central European Contemporary HistoryMaster’s Thesis: “The echoes of Prague Spring in the Romanian newspapers;” B.A. Babes-Bolyai University, 1999, JournalismEmphasis: Mass Communications, Public Relations.
  • Research Interests and Current Research: Social, Economic, and Political Aspects of the Environment, Biofuels and Renewable Energy, Agriculture and Food Systems, Rural Development, International Development, Migration

Jakubek, John ~ jakubek@ksu.edu

 John, Nicole ~ nikia@ksu.edu

  • Education: M.A., Sociology, Kansas State University; B.S., Sociology, Psychology Minor, Cameron University, 2006.
  • Research Interests and Current Research: My general research interests inlcude quality care among the elderly and intimacy among the elderly within care institutions. I am currently conducting a content analysis of informational brochures to examine the notion of 'successful aging' as a promoted by long-term care facilities within the 'traditional' and 'culture-change' models.

Jones, Sarah ~ sjjones@ksu.edu

Kelly, Kristin ~ kkell17@ksu.edu

Kesane, Iveta ~ iveta@ksu.edu

  • Education: Ph.D., Sociology, Kansas State University, from August 2011; M.A., Social Sciences, Global Studies, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität and University of KwaZulu-Natal, 2008; B.A., Humanities and Arts, Latvian Academy of Culture, 2005.
  • Research Interests and Current Research: Social change, emigration, everyday politics, emotions, identity

Kharel, Arjun ~ arjun@ksu.edu

Kosembay, Ahmet ~ ahmetk@ksu.edu

Lawson, Krystal ~ kjlawson@ksu.edu

Lueker, Suzanne ~ sjl1587@ksu.edu

Lynn, Tammy ~ tjlynn@ksu.edu

Massen, Alisha ~ ajmassen@ksu.edu

  • Education: B.S., University of Utah, 2008
  • Research Interests and Current Research: My research interests are primarily in labor markets (specifically informal labor markets), economics, and globalization. Currently I am working on how informal markets in Manhattan, KS create networks of consumers for their small businesses.

Miller, Michael ~ mmille24@ksu.edu

Mukherjee, Ahmet ~ anirban@ksu.edu

Nyagol, Jared ~ nyagolj@ksu.edu

Paiva, Marianne ~ mcpaiva@ksu.edu

  • Education: M.A., Social Science, California State University, Chico, 2001; B.A., Sociology, California State University, Chico, 1999.
  • Research Interests and Current Research: Sociology of Agriculture, Sociology of Community Development, Sociology of the Environment, Sociology of Pre-Hospital Emergency Medical Services, Interanation, Regional and Rural Development and Change, and Migration Patters of At-Risk Populations

Revard, Steven ~ srevard@ksu.edu

Rissler, Pat ~ psr@ksu.edu

Sarmistha, Uma ~ uma0105@ksu.edu

  • Education: Ph.D., Sociology, Kansas State University; M.A., Sociology, Kansas State University, 2008; M.A., Economics, Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics, India, 2003; B.A., Economics, Pune University, India, 2002.
  • Research Interests and Current Research: Rural and International Development and Economic Sociology

Sitterle, Daniel ~ sitterle@ksu.edu

Smith, Stacy ~ stacylee@ksu.edu

  • Education: Ph.D., Sociology, Kansas State University, expected 2015; M.A., English Literature, Composition and Rhetoric, Kansas State University, 1995; B.A., English, Wichita State University, 1992; B.A., Psychology, Wichita State University, 1991.

Summers, Carrie ~ cmsummer@ksu.edu

Teeter, Allison ~ amt8968@ksu.edu

Unruh, Allison ~ aunruh2@ksu.edu

  • Education: M.A., Sociology, Kansas State Universtiy; B.S., Sociology, Kansas State University, 2009.
  • Research Interests and Current Research: Non-violent resistance in the Indian independence movement, interest in the topic of cultural monogamy and relationship patterns, the volunteer ethic of the Mennonite religion, as well as topics that include single-parent families and the education system

Veitch, Adam ~ veitch@ksu.edu

Walker, Michael ~ mikewlkr@ksu.edu

Westfall, David ~ davidwes@ksu.edu

Whitney, Cindy ~ whitney7@ksu.edu

Wilkinson, Jennifer ~ jennif3@ksu.edu

 


 

Graduate Student Achievements: