Events 

Kant

Speaker Series 2013-2014

  • Susan Sterrett (Wichita) "The Moral of Model Making" Friday, October 18, Dickens 203, 3:30 pm.
  • Sean Walsh (Birkbeck) 
  • Eileen Nutting (University of Kansas)
  • Kansas Philosophical Society Meeting.  (Hemisphere Room of Hale Library on KSU Campus.)
  • Tommie Shelby (Harvard)  "Punishment, Condemnation, and Social Justice," Thursday, February 27, Dickens 203, 4:00 pm.
  • Dustin Stokes (Utah) "Towards a Consequentialist Understanding of Cognitive Penetration," Thursday, March 6, Dickens 203, 4:00 pm. 
  • Geoffrey Hellman (Minnesota) "Resolving Paradoxes: Extendability of Structures," Thursday, April 3, Dickens 203, 4:00 pm.
  • Roundtable on Philosophy and Borges. Monday, April 7, UMB Theater, Beach Museum of Art, 4:00 p.m.
  • Jorge J.E. Gracia (Buffalo) Tuesday, April 8, UMB Theater, Beach Museum of Art, 4:00 p.m.
  • Camille Hébert (Moritz College of Law, Ohio State) "Applying Philosophical Principles in Law," Thursday, April 17, Dickens 203, 4:00 pm.
  • Aaron Meskin (Leeds) "Experiments in Aesthetics: From Beauty to Bad Art," Monday, April 21, Dickens 203, 3:30 p.m.

Speaker Series 2012-2013

  • Kevin Elliott (University of South Carolina): "Anthropocentric Indirect Arguments for Environmental Protection."  Thursday, Sept. 27, Dickens 203.
  • James McBain (Pittsburg State University): "I Heard It Through the Grapevine." 4:00 p.m., Friday, October 19, Dickens 203.
  • Andrew Moon (Kansas State University): "Religious Disagreement, Epistemic Circularity, and the Cognitive Science of Religion." 3:30 p.m., Friday, October 26, Dickens 203.
  • Margaret Little (Georgetown University): "Conscientious Objection and the Ethics of Provision" (with Anne Lyerly).  4:00 p.m., Thursday, March 7, Dickens 203. 
  • Neil Sinhababu (National University of Singapore): "Desire's Explanations." 3:30 p.m., Friday, March 29, Dickens 203.
  • Harry Brighouse (University of Wisconsin, Madison).  "High Commitment Charter Schools and Principles of Educational Justice." 4:00 p.m., Thursday, April 11, Dickens 203.
  • Dennis Whitcomb (Western Washington University): "'You only believe that because you're a philosopher': debunking anti-foundationalism via the tools-to-theories heuristic." 4:00 p.m., Thursday, April 25, Dickens 203.
  • Diana I. Pérez (University of Buenos Aires): "Folk psychology, psychological concepts and the second person." 4:00 p.m., Thursday, May 2, Dickens 203.