1. K-State home
  2. »Arts and Sciences
  3. »Music, Theatre and Dance
  4. »Faculty and staff

School of Music, Theatre, and Dance

School of Music, Theatre, and Dance
Kansas State University
109 McCain Auditorium
1501 Goldstein Cir.
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-5740
mtdksu@k-state.edu

Faculty and Staff

Our world-class faculty members have attended some of the nation and world's most prestigious and competitive programs. This background, combined with a wealth of professional experience and depth of knowledge, is reflected through the quality of our applied, academic and ensemble offerings.

Although they take great pride in teaching, our faculty are still passionate about performing, as well as participating in a variety of academic and creative activities on campus and at prestigious venues throughout the world. Together, we are dedicated to service, taking pride in bettering the university, our community, as well as national and international professional organizations.

NameContactProgramArea
Jeff Ward
Associate Professor
Director of the School of Music, Theatre, and Dance 
jeff98@k-state.edu Administration/Music Music Education
Amanda Arrington
Collaborative Piano
aarring@k-state.eduMusicKeyboard
Sally Bailey
Professor, Director of Drama Therapy
Director of Graduate Studies in Theatre
sdbailey@k-state.eduTheatreDrama Therapy
Lori K. Baker
Fiscal and Personnel Officer

lkbaker@k-state.edu

AdministrationStaff
Theresa Breymeyer
Administrative Assistant

mus@k-state.edu

AdministrationStaff
Melissa Briggs
Assistant Professor of Drama Therapy

mbriggs@k-state.edu

TheatreDrama Therapy
Janie Brokenicky
Instructor, Voice, Music Theory
jbrokenicky@k-state.eduMusicVoice/Music Theory, History, and Compostition
Fred Burrack
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies in Music
Director of the Office of Assessment
fburrack@k-state.eduMusicMusic Education
Lavonne Canfield
Instructor
mlavonne@k-state.eduTheatreActing and Directing
Alfred Cochran
Professor
cochalw@k-state.eduMusicMusic Theory, History, and Compostition
Cora Cooper
Professor, Violin and Viola
Chair of String Division
corac@k-state.eduMusicStrings and Orchestra
Jerry Jay Cranford
Assistant Professor
jjcranford@k-state.eduTheatreActing and Directing
Kate Digby
Assistant Professor
kdigby@k-state.eduDance Dance
Rachel Dirks
Orchestra, Cello
rdirks@k-state.eduMusicStrings and Orchestra
Slawomir Dobrzanski
Professor, Piano

slawomir@k-state.edu

MusicKeyboard
Neil Dunn
Instructor, Percussion

neildunn@k-state.edu 

Dance/MusicDance/Wind and Percussion
Cindy Friedrich
Administraive Assistant
cindyle@k-state.edu
AdministraionStaff
Kurt Gartner
Professor, Percussion
Associate Director for Music
kgartner@k-state.edu
Music/AdministrationWind and Percussion
Wayne Goins
University Distinguished Professor, Guitar
Director of Jazz Studies
weg@k-state.edu
MusicJazz
Courtney Grecu
Administrative Assistant
cljensen@k-state.edu
MusicBands
Ruth Gurgel
Assistant Professor
gurgel@k-state.edu
MusicMusic Education
Paul Hunt
Professor, Trombone
phunt@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion
Jim Johnson
Assistant Professor, Trumpet
jim5@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion
Jacqueline Fassler-Kerstetter
Associate Professor, Horn
jkerstet@k-state.edu
MusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Composition
Tod Kerstetter
Professor, Clarinet
tkerstet@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion
Stephen Loch
Instructor
loch@k-state.eduDance Dance
David Mackay
Assistant Professor
dbmackay@k-state.eduTheatreActing, Directing
George Wame Matthews
Scene Shop Supervisor
georgewm@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Steven Maxwell
Associate Professor, Tuba/Euphonium
Chair of Wind and Percussion
smaxwell@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Composition
Susan Maxwell
Instructor, Bassoon
suemax@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Compostition;
Alyssa Morris
Assistant Professor, Oboe
alyssamorris@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Composition
Agustin Muriago
Instructor, Piano, Class Piano, Piano Pedagogy
muriago@k-state.eduMusicKeyboard
Joshua Oppenheim
Associate Professor
Co-Director of Choral Activities
joshuao@k-state.eduMusicChoral
Craig Parker
Associate Professor
cbp@k-state.eduMusicMusic Theory, History, and Compostition
Phillip Payne
Associate Professor
Chair of Music Education
ppayne@k-state.eduMusicMusic Education
Julie L. Pentz
Associate Professor
Associate Director for Dance
jpentz@k-state.eduDance Dance
David Pickering
Associate Professor, Organ
Chair of Keyboard Division
dpickeri@k-state.eduMusicKeyboard/Music Theory, History, and Compostition
Bryan Pinkall
Assistant Professor, Voice
pinkall@k-state.eduMusicVoice
Dana Pinkston
Associate Professor, Costume Design
dmpink@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Reginal Pittman
Professor, Opera
Chair of Voice Division
pittman@k-state.edu MusicVoice
Cheryl Richt
Instructor, Voice
clricht@k-state.eduMusicVoice
Amy Rosine
Associate Professor, Voice
arosine@k-state.eduMusicVoice
Melissa Neville
Costume Shop Manager
costume@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Jo Sanburg
Instructor of Lighting and Sound Design
jsanburg18@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Shannon Blake Skelton
Assistant Professor
sbskelton@k-state.eduTheatreTheatre History and Criticism
Kristyn Son
Instructor, Flute
kristynson@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion
Ben Stark
Associate Professor, Production Manager and Technical Director
benstark@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Patricia Thompson
Associate Professor, Voice
patthomp@k-state.eduMusicVoice
Frank Tracz
Professor
Director of Bands
ftracz@k-state.eduMusicBands
Jennifer Vellenga
Associate Professor, Head Acting and Directing
Associate Director for Theatre
vellenga@k-state.edu
TheatreActing and Directing
Kathy Voecks
Associate Professor, Scenic Design
Head of Design
kvoecks@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Craig Weston
Professor, Composition
Chair of Theory, History, and Composition
cweston@k-state.eduMusicMusic Theory, History, and Compostition
Alexander Wimmer
Assistant Director of Bands
amwinner@k-state.eduMusicBands
David Wood
Instructor, Director of Collegium Musicum
davidwood@k-state.eduMusicChoral/Music Theory, History and Composition
Ben Worcester
Instructor
bdw3355@gmail.comMusicMusic Theory, History, and Compostition
Sharon Worcester
Academic Advisor
ses8555@ksu.eduAdministrationStaff
Anna Marie Wytko
Associate Professor, Saxophone
wytko@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion
Julie Yu-Oppenheim
Associate Professor
Co-Director of Choral Studies
julieyu@k-state.eduMusicChoral

Emeritus Faculty

Jennifer Edwards
jre@k-state.edu

Robert L. Edwards
rle@k-state.edu

Jack Flouer
flouer@k-state.edu

Virginia Houser
vhouser@k-state.edu

David Littrell
dlitmus@k-state.edu

Gary Mortenson
Gary_Mortenson@baylor.edu

Marci Maullar
marcima@k-state.edu

David Ollington

Gerald S. Polich
polich@k-state.edu

Frank Sidorfsky
fsid@k-state.edu

Mary Ellen Sutton
sutton@k-state.edu

John Uthoff
jsutd@k-state.edu

Rodney G. Walker
rwalk@k-state.edu

William Wingfield
wwingf@k-state.edu