Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. September news releases
Print This Article  


Sources: Terin Walters, 785-532-5052,;
and Steve Logback, 785-532-5051,
Hometown interest: Abilene, Allen, Belleville, Chanute, Claflin, Coffeyville, Copeland, Cuba, De Soto, Farlington, Fort Scott, Garden Plain, Geneseo, Glasco, Gypsum, Hanover, Hays, Holcomb, Holton, Humboldt, Hutchinson, Lecompton, Lindsborg, Manhattan, Mankato, New Strawn, Oakley, Overland Park, Paola, Randolph, Riley, Scott City, Seneca, Shawnee, Solomon, Stafford, Stockton, Tecumseh, Tonganoxie, Topeka, Viola, Wamego, Wetmore, Wheaton, Wichita and Winfield, Kan. Also for Enterprise, Ala.; Montrose, Colo.; Mahomet and New Berlin, Ill.; Dearborn, Kansas City, Lake Winnebago, Nixa, St. Joseph and Warrensburg, Mo.; Cove, Ore.; and Wake Village, Texas.
News release prepared by: Tim Lindemuth, 785-532-5062,

Wednesday, Sept. 7, 2011


MANHATTAN -- Being the child or grandchild of a Kansas State University alumnus can pay off in a big way, thanks to the K-State Alumni Association and the university's license plate program.

Recipients of the alumni association's Legacy Scholarships were recognized during a halftime presentation at the K-State football game Sept. 3 at Bill Snyder Family Stadium.

The $1,000 scholarships were awarded to 80 children and grandchildren of K-State alumni for the 2011-12 academic year. K-State students receiving the scholarship are incoming freshmen, current and transfer students, and both in-state and out-of-state students. Applicants are considered if at least one parent or grandparent is a K-State alumnus, with preference given to members of the alumni association.

"Alumni across Kansas and the nation have encouraged the university and association to address tuition issues of legacy students, and this program greatly assists us in those efforts," said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. "The association's board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State."

The scholarships are made possible through funds generated by the K-State license plate program, administered by the association for the university.

The state-issued license plates with the purple Powercat logo can be found on the back of more than 3,000 cars, light trucks and farm vehicles in the state of Kansas. The program, administered locally in all 105 county treasurer offices, began in 1997. The tax-deductible royalties paid on K-State license plates has raised more than $1.5 million for student scholarships and recognition of achievements.

Legacy Scholarship recipients for 2011-2012 include:

Jonathan Baier, Abilene; Amy Boline, Allen; Erica Hadachek, Belleville; Mackenzey Sutcliffe, Chanute; Cindy Stueder and Sarah Stueder, both from Claflin; Andrea Smith, Coffeyville; Heather Gibson, Copeland; Celsey Beneda, Cuba; Elizabeth Reichenberger, De Soto; Kassie Curran and Keelie Curran, both from Farlington; Laura Stucky, Fort Scott; Kim Kerschen, Garden Plain; Sarah Kratzer, Geneseo; George Chapman, Glasco;

From Greater Kansas City: Taylor Hildebrand and Andrew Mohler, both from Kansas City, Mo.; Mary Gromer, Mark Nichols and Erin White, all from Overland Park; and Elizabeth Demars and Erin Hauber, Shawnee.

Caitlin Conley, Gypsum; Connor Hynek, Hanover; Ryan McCullick, Hays; Nolan Gaede, Holcomb; Mollie Nelson, Holton; Mary Hauser, Humboldt; Caroline Bacon and Trent Thurston, both from Hutchinson; Ashley Lesser, Lecompton; Koltin Howard-Talbott, Lindsborg.

From Manhattan: Joseph Brabec, Jamie Michel, Alexandra Miller, Ashley Ott, Kathryn Taylor, Alan Tillman and Melanie Wilkos.

Allison Thompson, Mankato; Bryan Harkrader, New Strawn; Brandon Maurath, Oakley; Bridget Kennedy, Paola; Seth Hastings, Pretty Prairie; Allie Henry and Tara Pfaff, both from Randolph; Courtney Voelker, Riley; Carl Minnix and Kathryn Minnix, both from Scott City; Lacy Ackerman, Seneca; Ryan Whelchel, Solomon; Mckenzie Gee, Stafford; Marylynn Griebel, Jonathan Reed and Brenna Schlaegel, all from Stockton; Hannah Helmke, Tecumseh; Mitchell DeHoff, Tonganoxie; Paul Carnahan, Laura Gonzales and Megan Henderson, all from Topeka; Derek Thome, Viola; Benjamin Chmiel and Sydney Lippman, both from Wamego; Cassidy Winkler, Wetmore; Rebecca Kohman, Wheaton; Joshua McCollum, Wichita; and Aaron Wasko and Peter Weinert, both from Winfield.

From out of state:

Rebekah Almquist, Enterprise, Ala.; Andrea Jeffrey, Montrose, Colo.; Sean Wonderlich, Mahomet, Ill.; Megan Weast, New Berlin, Ill.; MaryAnn Matney, Dearborn, Mo.; Elizabeth Kaifes, Lake Winnebago, Mo.; Derek Marcuson, Nixa, Mo.; Julia Brunner, St. Joseph, Mo.; Erin Warden, Warrensburg, Mo.; Hannah Del Curto, Cove, Ore.; and Ryan Upson, Wake Village, Texas.