Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. September news releases
Print This Article  


News release prepared by: Natalie Blair, 785-826-2642,

Friday, Sept. 1, 2010


SALINA -- Kansas State University's aviation program has picked seven winners from a daily scholarship drawing conducted at AirVenture 2010, the annual aviation show sponsored each year by the Experimental Aircraft Association in Oshkosh, Wis.

"K-State Salina's aviation program offers the most affordable degrees in the country," said Kurt Barnhart, aviation department head. "These $2,000 scholarships will make a K-State education even more affordable for the seven recipients."

Recipients had to meet the following criteria to be eligible for the scholarship: must be a junior or senior in high school during the 2010-2011 academic year, or must be a transfer student or start earning a bachelor’s degree at K-State’s Salina campus within the next two years.

The winners are:

Amanda Sipes, Wichita.

From out of state: Ryan Harris, Muscle Shoals, Ala.; Paul Cwian, Dakota, Ill.; Trevor Henson, Dunlap, Ill.; Troy DiGiovanni, Belmont, Mass.; Nathan Fischer, Kansas City, Mo.; and Matthew McDavid, Southlake, Texas.