Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. October news releases
Print This Article  

Source: Jim Hohenbary, 785-532-6904,
Photos available. Contact or 785-532-6415.
News release prepared by: Kristin Hodges, 785-532-6415,

Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University has nominated students to represent the university in the Marshall and Rhodes national scholarship competitions.

Jim Hohenbary, K-State assistant dean for nationally competitive scholarships, said the nominees for the Marshall scholarship are: Molly Hamm, senior in English literature and secondary education, Shawnee; and Mary Kathryn "Kate" Herzog, senior in anthropology, biology and French, Wichita; and Danielle Zanotti, senior in psychology, Mustang, Okla. Hamm and Herzog also are K-State's nominees for the Rhodes scholarship.

Marshall scholarships are awarded to as many as 40 students each year and provide full funding for one or two years of study in the United Kingdom. Rhodes scholarships are awarded to 32 students each year and provide full funding for one or two years of study at Oxford University in England. Nominees selected as competition finalists for the Marshall scholarship interview in mid-November. Interviews for Rhodes scholarship competition finalists are Nov. 20 and 21.

Hamm is pursuing a secondary major in international studies and a minor in nonprofit leadership. She plans to pursue graduate studies in comparative and international education and then teach high school English in the public school system. She would eventually like to work in curriculum and instruction at the district level before a career working with learning and innovation at the state education department level.

Hamm is serving her second term with AmeriCorps, is a member of the American Humanics Student Association and is on the planning committee for the IMPACT National Student Conference on Service, Advocacy and Social Action. She has been a student senator, a chairwoman of several Student Governing Association committees and president of the K-State Student Foundation. She is an alumna of Delta Delta Delta sorority, has served on K-State's Panhellenic Council and was a member of Mortar Board Senior Honor Society. She is the founder of K-State's Greeks Going Green initiative. She has served as a member of K-State Volunteer Center of Manhattan's Start Up Team and a Teach for America campus liaison. She has interned at the United Nations Foundation in Washington, D.C., and in the Kansas House of Representatives. Hamm was a finalist in the 2008 Truman Scholarship competition and is K-State's first recipient of the Frank Newman Leadership Award from Campus Compact. A 2005 graduate of Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, she is the daughter of Tim and Lori Hamm, Shawnee.

Herzog is pursuing a secondary major in international studies and a minor in economics, and she received a certificate in conflict resolution. She is interested in the connection between societal health and animal and ecosystem health. Eventually, she plans to pursue a veterinary sciences degree. She would like to work as a veterinarian, serving as both a medical resource and a researcher on ecological issues, biodiversity and the anthropological connections to both.

Herzog is a member of Fair Trade Advocates, Students for Environmental Action, the K-State Cycling Club and has trained and competed in equestrian events. She has been a member of the K-State women's rowing team, the K-State club soccer team and the K-State Parachute Association. She has served various leadership roles for Golden Key International Honor Society and is involved in the University Honors Program. She also is an emergency medical technician for Riley County. She has been a research assistant for Wayne Nafziger, distinguished professor of economics, and Tiffany Kershner, assistant professor of anthropology. Herzog was a Udall Scholarship nominee in 2008 and 2009. She has received a Best Undergraduate Paper Award from the Mid-Western Association for Canadian Studies. She has received several scholarships, including the K-State Presidential Scholarship, June D. Hull Sherrid Cancer Center Scholarship, Hollis-Johnston Scholarship in Modern Languages, Mary L. and Robert L. Koch Scholarship, and the John Delehanty Memorial Award for Social Activism. Herzog transferred to K-State from Williams College. A 2005 graduate of Sanford School in Hockessin, Del., she is the daughter of Benjamin and Kathryn Herzog, Wichita.

Zanotti plans to get a master's degree and eventually a doctorate in clinical psychology. She would like to have a career helping individuals recover psychologically after traumatic events. She also will be working on the K-State women's basketball coaching staff and would like to pursue a coaching career at K-State.

Zanotti has been a research assistant for K-State's Donald Saucier, associate professor of psychology, and Sara Smith and Jericho Hockett, graduate students in psychology. Zanotti has had one research paper accepted by a psychology journal and is working on several other manuscripts. She also has given many presentations at psychology conferences. She is a member of K-State's women's basketball team, the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and Psi Chi, the national honor society for psychology. She is a member of Fellowship Christian Athletes and has been active in Compassions United. Zanotti received the 2009 E. J. Phares Prize for Outstanding Undergraduate Research and was a top-four finalist for the University Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Students in Research. She has been on the All-Big 12 First Team Honor Roll and the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll for four years. A 2005 graduate of Mustang High School, she is the daughter of Frank Zanotti, Moorhead, Minn., and Dona Zanotti, Mustang.

K-State is second in the nation among 500 state universities and tied for 20th overall with eight Rhodes winners in the past 25 years, and third in the nation among state universities and 17th overall with 12 Marshall scholars selected in the past 25 years.