Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Bill Muir, 785-532-6237,

Friday, May 14, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Two Kansas State University have received the Stanley L. Winter Alpha Tau Omega K-State Student Union Leadership Scholarship for their service to the Union.

Megan Canfield, May 2010 graduating senior in sociology and psychology, Dodge City, and Jared Schnefke, who plans to graduate in August 2010 with degrees in accounting and finance, Shawnee, were each presented with the $1,000 scholarship at the Union Program Council/Union Governing Board banquet May 8.

Canfield was recognized for her work with the Union Program Council. She was the 2009-2010 Union Program Council vice president for promotions. She previously has served as co-chair of the council's After Hours and community committees. She also has been an employee at the Union. Canfield has been active with the Moore Hall Governing Board, was a member-at-large in the K-State Student Senate and has worked at Derby Dining Center. She is a member of the National Society for Collegiate Scholars. She will pursue a master's in college student personnel at K-State in the fall.

Schnefke was elected to the Union Governing Board in 2008, serving as president for the 2009-2010 school year, and as secretary in 2008-2009. He also served as a student senator; an officer of the K-State Student Foundation; and was a member of Alpha Tau Omega fraternity, where he served as president, membership education chair, risk management officer and social chair. He received the Bensman President's Award for being the fraternity chapter's most outstanding member -- only the second time a member has received the award for two consecutive years. He also has received the chapter's Brown Memorial Outstanding New Member Award, the Holstrom Memorial Outstanding Senior Award twice, the Tinder Memorial Outstanding Junior Award, the Sterrett Memorial Outstanding Sophomore Award, the Order of the Third Star and the Trustees' Brotherhood Award.

The Winter scholarship, established in 1992, is named after Stanley L. "Stan" Winter, a 1986 graduate of K-State who died in February 1992 at the age of 27.

Winter was a member of K-State's chapter of Alpha Tau Omega fraternity, serving in various offices including scholarship chair, brotherhood chair and member of the executive committee. He also received both the chapter's Thomas Arkle Clark Outstanding Senior Award and the chapter adviser's Brotherhood Award.

Winter also was involved in numerous campus activities, but most prominently at the K-State Student Union. He was president of Union Program Council, receiving its Outstanding Leadership Award in 1986. He also was a member of the Union Governing Board. After graduating with honors in agricultural economics, Winter served as program adviser at the Union. He received his master's in student counseling from K-State in 1989 and went on to become program director at the University of Northern Colorado Student Union. He died after a long and recurring battle with cancer.

The purpose of the Winter scholarship is to perpetuate Winter's memory at K-State and to provide educational opportunities and assistance for upper-level students who possess exemplary attributes in scholarship, fellowship and character. The K-State Alpha Tau Omega Students' Aid Endowment Fund established the scholarship with donations from the Winter Family, brothers of Alpha Tau Omega and friends. To be eligible, a student must have at least a 2.5 grade point average, be of good character and sound academic standing, and contributed to the quality of programs and activities of the K-State Student Union.

Scholarship recipients are selected by a three-member committee that includes the president of the Alpha Tau Omega Students' Aid Endowment Fund, a member of the Alvin Winter family and the executive director of the K-State Student Union.

"We are very pleased to be able to again offer this scholarship to outstanding students involved in Union programs and activities," said Bernard Pitts, assistant vice president and executive director of the K-State Student Union. "Special thanks to the local Alpha Tau Omega Endowment Fund and the Winter family for making this scholarship a reality, and congratulations to Jared and Megan as this year's recipients."

"We are extremely proud to have this scholarship named after my brother. These two students are the K-State Student Union's outstanding student leaders, and possess good, all-around qualities that fit the criteria for this scholarship. I know that Stan would be proud of both of them," said Kent Winter, representing the Winter family.

"We are extremely proud to have the opportunity to award this scholarship in memory of Stan Winter to outstanding students like Jared Schnefke and Megan Canfield," said Bill Muir, president of the K-State Alpha Tau Omega Students' Aid Endowment Fund. "Stan loved the Union, he loved his fraternity, he loved K-State, and he loved life in general. It is very appropriate that we memorialize his life of service with these scholarships."

A permanent scholarship plaque is available in the Union's main concourse.