Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases
Print This Article  


Sources: Melinda Sinn, 785-532-5888,;
and Suzanne Lueker, 785-532-6434,
News release prepared by: Rosanna Vail, 785-532-2720,

Monday, May 24, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's chapter of the Pinnacle Honor Society inducted more than 65 nontraditional students at the K-State Division of Continuing Education Honors and Awards Reception May 5.

To be eligible to join K-State's chapter of Pinnacle, students must have achieved a GPA of 3.0 or higher, be of junior standing and have demonstrated leadership, persistence and future promise.

Thirteen inductees attended the on-campus induction ceremony, including Thomas Reust, senior in mass communications, and Elizabeth Wilson, senior in secondary education, both from Manhattan. Reust and Wilson currently serve as student ambassadors for K-State's office of nontraditional and veteran student services and are part of the University Honors Program.

"I feel honored to be inducted into the Pinnacle Honor Society," Wilson said. "The ceremony was beautiful, and it was nice to share that moment with fellow nontraditional students."

At the induction ceremony, students received certificates of membership presented by Suzanne Lueker, director of nontraditional and veteran student services, and April Mason, K-State provost and senior vice president, who shared her experiences of having a mother who was a nontraditional student.

"I really appreciate that nontraditional students are being recognized by K-State," Reust said. "It shows that we're considered to be a part of the K-State family and that what we do matters."

Along with Reust and Wilson, this year's Pinnacle inductees at K-State include:

Christine Scherbring, senior in elementary education, Abilene; Neil Crose, junior in technology management, Basehor; Melissa Barton, junior in animal sciences and industry, Berryton; Timothy Drummond, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in life sciences, and Dustie Samuels, senior in pre-medicine and nutritional sciences, both from Council Grove; Marina Vilardo, senior in psychology and sociology, Dwight; Nathan Whitcomb, senior in civil engineering, Elmdale.

From Fort Riley: Theresa Barke, senior in biology; Ray Chase, junior in technology management; Jamie Jenkins, junior in social sciences; Donka Milke, junior in microbiology; and Rebecca Strong, junior in human ecology.

Juan Carlos Mendoza, senior in hotel and restaurant management, Garden City; Sabrina Hogue, junior in finance, Junction City.

From Manhattan: Ronald Benoit, junior in accounting; Lisa Campbell, senior in architecture; Oscar Carrion, senior in food science and industry; Robin Charles, junior in arts and sciences-open option; Angela Davis, senior in elementary education; Allen Eckhart, senior in interior architecture and product design; Annette Finkeldei, senior in horticulture; Diane Griffin, senior in social sciences; Heather Gladney, senior in social sciences; Haley Hargrove, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in social sciences; Tamica Lige, senior in art; Seth Lovelady, senior in mechanical engineering; Jason Man, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in management; Barbara Norton, senior in anthropology; Jessica Reyes, junior in English and secondary education-English; Harold Sievers, special undergraduate in arts and sciences-open option; Santana Talbert, senior in accounting; Kathryn Thompson, senior in economics; Sonia Topliff, senior in social sciences; Robin Whitten, junior in elementary education; and Marla Willems, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in psychology.

Rebecca Dockum, senior in family studies and human services, McPherson; Ashley Smith, senior in general business, Olathe; Joanne Hering, senior in dietetics, Overland Park.

From Salina: Bryan Hurlbut, junior in technology management; David Kohart, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in technology management; and Justin Scott, senior in engineering technology and technology management.

Matthew Simmons, senior in social sciences, Topeka; Michelle Keating, junior in finance and financial management, Wakefield; Tamra Mueller, senior in elementary education, Wamego; Jana Whitesell, junior in general business, Waterville.

From Wichita: Timothy Fidler, senior in professional pilot; Raymond Heinz, senior in engineering technology; and Geoffrey Jones, senior in computer engineering.

From out of state:

LaDonna Dean, senior in dietetics, Anchorage, Alaska; Sarah Ennis, senior in animal sciences and industry, Kerman, Calif.; Sazisani Viki, junior in business administration, Sanford, Fla.; Brianne Hancock, senior in social sciences, Honolulu, Hawaii; Katherine Johannsen, junior in political science, Downers Grove, Ill.; Karen Gensmer, senior in dietetics, Hutchinson, Minn.; Stephan Uffman, senior in architecture, St. Ann, Mo.; Sarah Reade, senior in dietetics, St. Joseph, Mo.; Vanessa Tanderup, senior in dietetics, Fremont, Neb.; Kevin Byrne, senior in food science and industry, Ridgewood, N.Y.; Lanita McGee, senior in dietetics, Fairfield, Ohio; Danielle Tompkins, senior in dietetics, Mentor, Ohio; Rachel Flaksman, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in dietetics, Warwick, R.I.; Casey Wilson, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in general business administration, Houston, Texas; Eric Dvorak, senior in civil engineering, Schertz, Texas; Kelly Merritt, senior in dietetics, Leesburg, Va.; Karl Kirkevold, senior in social sciences, Bothell, Wash.; and Adam Brock, senior in food science and industry, Kiel, Wis.